Drawing turned into an animated GIF

in #art6 years ago

Well hello there, fellow steemer :)

This morning, I created this animation from one of my drawings:

Bug-Animation.gif

I used Photoshop, some javascript, and lots of trial and error!

In Photoshop, I separated the wings and the body into different layers, using the clone stamp tool to fill in the body where I cut out the wing shape. Then I used free transform to create a copy of the wings so they are flapping down. Then with some very clunky and poorly written javascript (I am just learning...trying to teach myself!) I coded some basic instructions on how the bug should move, floating up and down and flapping its wings. The script moved the bug, made layers visible/invisible as needed, and saved each frame to a JPEG. I then loaded each individual frame into a stack in a separate Photoshop document, and using the Timeline panel, I created an animated GIF.

It is very basic, but overall, I am very pleased with how it turned out :)


Video & "Tutorial"

Earlier, I posted a time lapse video (speed drawing) of this drawing. I also wrote out a basic "tutorial" on how I drew it, in case anybody was interested in trying to draw something similar! 🤷

Follow this link to see the tutorial and video:
https://steemit.com/art/@makanicreative/6tjttyuy


The Steemit Creative Curation Show with Shane and Isaria

This is also my entry to the contest! Thank you to @swelker101 and @isaria for promoting creative Steemians! I am looking forward to the show.


QUESTION: Is anyone interested in seeing future tutorials of how to create something like this animation????

Sort:  

OMG, this insect is gorgeous! You so talented!
Now I extremely want to draw insect with watercolor in my drawing challenge)

Thank you! I would love to see you do an insect in watercolor! I'm following you now, so I'll keep an eye out for your new artwork

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Awesome, thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87