"Black Hole" | Zen Colouring Contest by @magiccleatus

in #art6 years ago

At long last, I've returned to the beautiful stencil designs that @magiccleatus creates every week.
 
Each time he puts a new one out, I think "Oooh, how pretty, I'd love to colour that!" but the last few weeks have been a fury of activity, and I just wasn't able to get to them.
 
When I saw this one, however, I knew I could not miss out on it. It reminded me of a black hole, where nothing escapes, not even light itself. The design, with it's interesting mixture of curves and angles, reminded me of all kinds of information being sucked down into a singularity.
 
I hope you like it =)



Black Hole

~~
Max. Print Size: 14" x 14"



“Time is a wave or a black hole could not bend it; humanity rides the crest of an infinite number of waves that are perceived as linear in their limited frame of reference.”

-- Ken Poirot


The process

I started off with the Mandala that I found for this weeks "Monday Mandala", which I have yet to complete... For now, all I needed was some beautiful yellow:

Next, I got to work in photoshop, using Eraser and many different layers:

I then changed the image saturation and brightness to get a more intense yellow...:

And then it was back to the Eraser and layers! :

It was looking good, but some contrast was missing, so I blackened up the mandala, gave it another twist and used it to finalise in photoshop yet again:

Lastly, the background... I simply took the original mandala image and gave it a strong radial blur:

With some eraser and varied opacities, I completed the stencil:

And there you have it =) ... I highly recommend following @magiccleatus and participating in his weekly colouring contest... It's extremely fun to do, and actually quite therapeutic.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
The Mandelsage Challenge - Why I Get Up Every Morning | "Larva on a Leaf" - Gallery: Fine Art | Diary of an Inter-Galactic Traveller - No Man's Sky
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining the terrible bidbot situation is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

It has been very interesting, I like that he has placed as he was doing, greetings.

I also liked seeing and reading about the process. :D

Congratulations @mandelsage! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful. I really can't imagine how much background work need to be done in order to come out such a beautiful art.

Thank you for your kind words about my stencil designs.

I love that you used the fractal image you found for 'Monday Mandala'. Its very clever and unique to alter the "levels" of the image in stages and then use those in layers behind the stencil and erase certain sections to form an alluring pattern. I also like the smart use of white/negative space that adds a pleasant relief/break in the design!

Thanks for entering and supporting the #zencolouringcontest


ZC-EA-gif.gifZC-EA-font.png


Thanks for naming Forest Colour Palette! on the Discord Server, as your suggestion for next weeks featured colour!

ZCawardTINYHonourableMentionbronze.png
Honourable Mention, Well done!!


Great Entry! Thank you for participating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72