"Larva on a Leaf" | Gallery: Fine Art

in #art6 years ago

I was going for an electron microscope colour photo affect
and I think it came out quite well =)

 
I'm actually really happy about this piece because it exemplifies what I was talking about in my post "That Is The Question" about trying to use more obviously fractal-y looking formulae to still create uniqueness, and I believe I've done that here.
 
On top of that, my main thing as an artist is to create artwork inspired by science and work that'll inspire curiosity about science in others, which I think this piece achieves too.
 
The only thing I didn't do was give him a name... Any ideas? =)



Larva On A Leaf

~~
Gallery: Fine Art
Max. Print Size: 21" x 28"



“The human mind prefers something which it can recognize to something for which it has no name, and, whereas thousands of persons carry field glasses to bring horses, ships, or steeples close to them, only a few carry even the simplest pocket microscope. Yet a small microscope will reveal wonders a thousand times more thrilling than anything which Alice saw behind the looking-glass.”

-- David Fairchild

Song of the Day - Flight of the Bumble Bee - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov



Proof of Work:

Here is a screenshot of my fractal program, to prove this is my work:

The Creation Process:

 

First, my inspiration in the flesh! ;P .. Here are real life larvas.
You get many, many different kinds:


Image source

But so how did I create mine? Well, you may remember this piece from 3 weeks ago:

So, I decided to do as I said I would and use exactly the same formulae (only two of them) and see what I could come up with. I played around with the parameters and was getting a lot of mess... Each time I'd go too far, I'd have to reset the parameters and start again. Then, suddenly, there it was... The shape of an idea! ...

Here is a much simplified representation of how the process went:

Once I was satisfied with the shapes, I rendered it out at 7500 x 5625 (which took almost two hours) and then got stuck in with the colours:

All those layers just so I could experiment in Photoshop and see what looked best. After a lot of swapping out colours and erasing and experimenting, I settled on two and started the detail-work:

And here are a few high-res. details:

And that's that =) ... It was such a pleasant surprise to see the little larva guy appear as I tweaked parameters, and now I'm wondering how many more insect friends I can find in the chaos of fractal geometry...

Probably a bunch more! Fractals are everywhere in nature... I'll leave you with this article that shows more than a dozen examples of fractal geometry being present in nature... From shells to vegetables to river and mountains! ;)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
Diary of an Inter-Galactic Traveller - No Man's Sky | Mountain Lily - Gallery: Motifs | Steemit Monsters - 10 Booster Packs Live Opening
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Copyright @Mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining the terrible bidbot situation is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85