1st May 2018; this year's Flower Crowns came out beautiful but they missed...

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Every year on 1st of May, Greeks go out gather (or buy) flowers and create beautiful flower crowns and hang them on their doors.

Usually, my mother (@sofi-m) and I called a few friends and family home and sat all together on the veranda and worked on our flowery handcrafts. My father always liked to see our creations and came out to the veranda to check on the process and offer us coffee or juice.

This year's flower crowns came out beautiful but they missed joy, because there is nothing joyful in doing something that someone you loved enjoyed, but he is not there anymore to share it with you.

20180501_144914-02.jpeg

IMG-20180506-WA0000.jpg

Ps. Missing you

Sort:  

@twiceuponatime and I cannot agree on almost anything else. But, from the bottom of our hearts, we both hope that you find peace and joy now and when all will be united and reunited in the One Love.

I thank you both and keep you in my heart always 😊😊

Yes, we do.

Wao beatifull flowers . I love flowers specially red rose . Usually I give to my wife as a gift.

I bet she will love it!

You are right she love it and me too

Wow... looking so beautiful flowers. Great art work and outstanding creativity.....@mariandavp. following you for your next post.

Thank you very much! 🌹

I understand the feeling of doing something that you used to do for the one you loved. I do that as well though she is in heaven today. Your flower crowns are beautiful and an expression of your heart. Perhaps you can share them with others who are hurting. You have such love. Blessings - @mariandavp

Ι know you have been there and that you understand the feeling @enjoywithtroy. Thank you for your comment.

That's a lovely tradition :-)

You experience Spring better!

Beautiful coloured flower crowns, reminds a father with sweet memories. I am sorry for your adn @sofi-m's loss. But if you can remember and celebrate that warm moments with a smile you never truly lose your loved ones.

Thank you @misalen for your warm message, hopefully we will manage to smile again at memories.

It's a beautiful tradition you have in Greece.. I am truly sorry for your dad, but I am sure he watched you secretly from up above and was filled with joy, feeling your thoughts...

Thanks so much for your sweet comment...

This is really beautiful art.. outstanding....

Thank you very much!

I know all about loss, so I can truly feel for you. All the loss around me has made me embrace death though. Like the great Liantinis said, only when you accept death as part of life you are truly free.

I wish you health and joy so you can honour your dad for the rest of your life. I hope the pain becomes happy memories one day soon.

God bless you dear!

Thank you very very much @tkappa for your wishes... It is true that the only certain thing in life is death, and I am not afraid to die really but I think it is still impossible for me to accept that it will happen to people I love.

Marianda, please don't take it like I was trying to "preach" or anything like this. I wasn't! Trust me, I have lost beloved people too and in one case one of them would leave his last breath with his head laying on my hands. I will NEVER ever forget the look of death in his eyes. NEVER!

It's really honorable and shows the kind of person you really are by not being able to accept death for the ones you love and I truly respect that! As I respect the pain you go through for losing someone as important as your father. I feel the same way for the ones I love. I prefer to die or to get sick or go through all the pain in the world than the ones I truly love. Especially seeing the ones you truly love without being able to help them? Oh man!!!! That's the worse feeling ever!!!

However, I strongly believe that we should embrace death, sickness, pain and so on! It's inevitable! I think the ancient Greeks did the right thing when it came to death of beloved people: they honored them for the rest of their lives and spoke great for them (υστεροφημία). I am sure that they had to deal with a lot of pain and grief as well (I am afraid that's inevitable too), but they desired a glorious death for themselves and their loved ones. I think Christianity has done a little damage on this one; it has taught us to fear death while our ancestors welcomed death as our final destination.

One way or another, I strongly believe that your father is in a much better place right now and he's proud of you. I feel the same way for the ones I have lost during the years. Don't ask me how I know because I don't. I STRONGLY believe so though!!!

Be strong and honour your father for the rest of your life :)))

Wow, amazing art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04