Being Steel - What if..? part 3

in #art5 years ago

Being Steel was an interactive game/adventure/story, played here on the Steem-blockchain. The fun part was that at the end of every episode, I gave the players a choice on how they wanted the story to continue. The option that got the most votes, was how the story continued.

The game has finished, this here was the final post, and in part 1 and part 2 I've written what would have happened if the other option(s) were chosen, covering episodes 1-9.

Enjoy the utter, last and completely final part 3 of the hypothetical, parallel dimensional Being Steel. What If..!?


Episode 10 started with the adding of options which could possibly end the story. I never had a definitive ending in mind but after 10 episodes felt the story could come to an end. But I didn't want to rush it, so I left it up to the players, who maybe could choose the finale (which could be either fun, mysterious or gruesome, depending on the option - a writer's allowed to have some fun as well!)

It started with Steel/Chris P. Bacon on the brink of death (again?). He gets saved by a mystery-figure and could choose:

"Do you want revenge on Peter, Paul and Phineas, also known as the Super Unicorn Bros.? Let's say... Amputate something of theirs?"
I grinned. Yeah. Revenge sounded decent.
-"Or do you want to live in quietude, and never be bothered again?"
Well. Quietude sounded uneventful, but also non-threatening for sure.
-"Or do you want to go back to your Jester, the love of your life, and go gallivanting around the world with her?"
Now that sounded quite fun as well...

The option to get revenge was chosen (as I half expected it would be...), the option to live in quietude would have resulted in Steel chickening out and arriving somewhere... undefined (I don't remember thinking this option through) and the option to go back to the Jester would have resulted in the mystery-figure dropping her cloak, revealing herself to be the Jester and end the story with the two lovebirds hugging and kissing in a simply spiffing sunset!

But, revenge was chosen, so it was on to Episode 11 in which Steel quickly found the slave-traders, along with a Cap'n o' th' Sea:

The Cap'n and the three slavetraders stood huddled around a campfire and were having a lively discussion: -"Y'arr, y'er' g't m' s'me pur't 'n wh' m'r bloody th' spr''n''nt" p' s'" bouncing in't' 'f'r """, me' laddies!" I heard the cap'n say, although to me it wasn't clear what he actually meant by it.

There were options on exactly how Steel would get revenge:

Option 1: "Use the cleaver, of course, hack 'n slash, let 'em hav' it!" would have resulted in the guts 'n gore-scenario, in which Steel would bloody well have won, and gotten revenge, but of course there would have been a twist - either with the slaves, possibly the returning freak-show or some other unknown plot twist.

Option 2: "No! The pen is mightier than the cleaver! Write a dazzling letter with your complaints and let them read 'm 'n weep!" was a fun option and I was glad to see a few votes going here - but this would have ended the story. No matter how lyrical Steel's letter with complaints would have been, the slave-traders would have mocked it, leaving Steel no other option than to seek a deserted island, and spend the rest of his life writing his autobiography on some social media-platform. Alas!

Option 3: "Be smart here for a second: free the slaves and let them rise against and defeat their masters. Be a true hero!" was chosen, and I really had fun writing the revolution of the slaves, I must say!

Option 4: "This story has come full circle, having escaped from the cops from this harbor in episode 1! Now let's call the police and let them arrest these rotten scoundrels!" Would have made for a nice ending, with the story actually coming full circle, with Steel calling the cops from who he ran away in the first place. The cops very likely would have arrested him, rather than the slave-traders, though, and Steel would find himself in jail, writing his autobiography. As you may remember, I still had no idea what crime Steel had committed in the first place, but I probably would have improvised one here, using the words of the players.

Episode 12 and the story was still not finished! Revenge was sweet:

We charged like madmen. The slaves yodeled like there was no tomorrow. Peter, Paul, Phineas and the Cap'n never knew what hit 'em. It was over before you could say affluent triangle of roses.

And these were the options I left you with:

-"So now what, mate?", the slaves asked me.

Option 1: "Let's capture the ship and sail the seas as freebooters!"
Option 2: "Why waste all this infrastructure? Let's become slave-traders ourselves!"
Option 3: "I know my way around this city, let's go grab a drink downtown!"
Option 4: "I set you free, but I must return to my Jester!"
Option 5: "I haven't really thought about it, what do you guys think?" [Got a good idea? Let me know in the comments!]

As you may have read in Episode 13, option 1 was chosen - to capture the ship and sail as freebooters - which I thought would make for a fun, symbolical happy end to the story. But I couldn't leave it simply at that, so I wrote every end-scenario I offered. I must say I had a bloody fun time writing that episode, and I sure hope you enjoyed reading it.

But it had to end sometime, and somewhere, and it was now and here. I know there's technically a plothole, when Steele says he's out of options after releasing the Kraken. You know, he's still writing about his adventures in the past tense... So, how has he survived and where is he?

But I'm happy to leave that a mystery. The whole Being Steel-adventure was mighty fun to do. In it I've written some stuff I couldn't possibly have imagined before. The concept with you, the players, suggesting 3 words made it totally awesome. The words were also pivotal at times, as some plot twists were purely inpired by your words. So thank you all again for playing the game - drop a comment and you'll get a 100% upvote, you deserve it.

And you know what? Add three words, I may use them in a new series. Whaddayasay?

Sort:  

Thank you for organising and writing Steel. It was great fun to play.

I say a big yes please to another series :)

My words: murder, adventure, weird

Thank you, glad you enjoyed!
If a new series starts... But it looks like you have some great starting suggestions, thanks! :)
Hmm.. A murder-adventure, I've read "10 little niggers" recently... Or should I say the politically correct "And then there were none"? It may inspire.. :)

Haha, yeah, sounds good to me :)

I loved every chapter :D Every time I see a post from you, it cheered me up at work and it was great to see my inputs being incorporated into the fold, as well.... Thanks for running this <3

Three words: Spider, Mango, Time-Travel

Thank you, that's awesome to hear :)

Time-travel, eh... That might make things complicated, haha :D

And you know what? Add three words, I may use them in a new series. Whaddayasay?
;) A new series, eh?
Agony, mead, and vortex!

I really enjoyed your story and all the humourous twists and turns! :) and I still love this quote from episode six:
-"Zipper me bloated doilies,"

Hahaha, you never know! But if I feel like starting a new one, I know where to start now, thanks! :)

And, yeah, "Zipper me bloated doilies" is still hilarious. I wanted to include it in these reviews, but they were already quite long, thanks for bringing it up once more! :D

Hello @marty-art, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks @creativecrypto :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33