Duomo Painting Project / Continuing work on San Matteo Niche

in #art5 years ago (edited)

94D700A1-6412-46C7-A8A4-8E86C1A13EBE.jpeg

Duomo Painting Project / San Matteo Niche Detail

This painting has become very intense for me, I had no idea when I started it that the details would be so intricate. I am painting a part of the facade of the Duomo that is very high up, so high that with normal human vision it is impossible to see the details that are there from the ground. I am beginning to think that Florentines had some kind of technology back in the 1800s that we are not aware of. The sheer complexity of the architecture is astounding. How did they do it without modern machines?

CB0E7364-A6F2-4CA5-BC19-5044E7E24D45.jpeg

Duomo Project (Detail)

I am about half way though this niche which is just a small part of the entire painting. I have a feeling that this project will take a long time to finish. I don’t want to rush it. I am going for a full render, the Duomo deserves it.

88A7540D-25EC-4535-90E7-A6FD30D443A4.jpeg

Duomo Project (Work in progress)

This post is part of a series about the making of this painting. If you are new to my blog or would like to revisit the former posts here they are:

Day One
Day Two
Phase 1 Complete
First Week of Painting
Further Work San Matteo
San Matteo Detail Work
Beginning Marble Inlay

If you have any questions about my process, or would like to just say hi, leave a comment and I’ll get right back to you! I really appreciate your support, if you like what you see, I invite you to follow me on Steemit @matteopaints , upvotes and resteems are always lovely as well!

Until next time 👋😀 Matteo

Sort:  

It is coming very nicely Matteo and please take time, sometimes we just want to bring our work to end but in this case you need to be patient and careful Lovely painting!

Thank you, I guess these projects are getting more complicated as the years go by. My standards are based on my overall career, so a painting from 10 years ago will not likely be as precise as one I make today. It does slow down the process of painting quite a bit as I have to add layer after layer of paint to get the rendering that I desire.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks !!!!!!!👋😀

Incredible, Matteo :D Love how you are working on this alcove ! The depth of space is done beautifully <3 Always such a lovely thing to see progress on this beautiful work :)

Thanks!!! I have worked hard on the depth perception of the niche. It is important that the sculpture pops out in the space 👨🏻‍🎨

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29