Duomo Project / San Matteo Detail Work

in #art5 years ago

D190B511-27ED-42FE-A854-A13A42303246.jpeg

Duomo Project / San Matteo Detail (Oil on Canvas)

I’ve been hard at work on my Duomo Painting Project. I got some new brushes to work on fine details, and a new medium to help smooth out the paint and make it easier to mix the fine details of the San Matteo Statue. It is amazing how much detail there is on the facade of the Duomo in Firenze. I went back to get better photos, and wow, the details just got more and more intense. Then today, around 6pm, I went back, just to look, and from the ground you cannot see the details at all. This painting is hyper realistic, in the sense that it is more than real. If I were standing in the square, I would not be able to capture the amount of detail by just looking than I captured with my camera which has a 30x zoom.

3AD36D67-6923-4BD4-8B17-8890DB822FC9.jpeg

Duomo Project work in progress

Here you can see how much I have filled in so far, not much really. I decided that I wanted to finish the San Matteo Niche before moving on to the rest of the painting. I find that if there is a fully rendered section of the painting that I am working on, it makes it easier to finish the rest. Also it gives me a chance to get to know the subject that I am painting in a more definitive sense.

F407B227-2654-4070-94C9-2DCD5288D250.jpeg

Duomo Project full canvas in studio

This post is part of an ongoing series about the making of this painting, all in real time. If you are new to my channel, or would like to see a recap of the project so far here are the links:

Day One
Day Two
Phase 1 Complete
First Week of Painting
Further Work San Matteo

In other news, another one of my Duomo Paintings Entering The Duomo will be in the March issue of Hyperrealism Magazine!! I am very excited about this🍾🥂💃🕺🏼😀 Here is a link to their site so if you like you can order a copy

Hyperrealism Magazine #6

If you like my artwork and would like to see more, especially of the Duomo Project, then you can follow me on Steemit @matteopaints . Upvotes are always appreciated, as are your comments. Feel free to resteem my posts as well!!

Alla Prossima (until next time) Matteo 😎

Sort:  

Lovely work, Matteo! Great development, so far!

Thanks!!!! Here is the latest update: Beginning Marble Inlay


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Grazie 🎈🎉

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21