Space Paintings by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art5 years ago

73B81CCB-829C-4156-B10F-77424C37E748.jpeg

“Moonrise” Oil on Canvas - 50 cm x 70 cm - private collection ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

Ever since I was a child I have been fascinated with space, science fiction movies, books, you name it I was into it. So I decided to make a series of space paintings just for fun. I bought a bunch of canvases, all the same size, and I got to work. The paintings represent a small voyage into the solar system from the Earth to the Moon and on to Jupiter.

5093DCF3-5BA6-42E4-ADF7-583AD3335603.jpeg

“Earthrise” Oil on Canvas - 50 cm x 70 cm ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

I don’t know about you, but I have always thought it would be cool to see this view. One of the things that I love about art is that through my imagination I can represent on canvas, something that I have only dreamed of.

EA2BE34D-87BC-406B-9677-D2C30C8E1342.jpeg

“Jupiter and Io” Oil on Canvas - 50 cm x 70 cm ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

0003F832-9A00-4B31-8AE4-1CF06618D322.jpeg

“Hyperdimensional Window to the Cat’s Eye Nebula” Oil on Canvas - 50 cm x 70 cm ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

This painting is a bit different, I live in Firenze, where Galileo first gazed into the night sky thought his primitive telescope. This design is based on the idea that through our telescopes we can see things that otherwise are not there. The sky all around the six sided “window” is what we can see with the naked eye. It is through the magic of science that we get to see more.

051326DB-60B6-4D7B-8E4B-3CB04B794854.jpeg

“Hyperdimensional Window to the Cat’s Eye Nebula” Oil on Canvas - 50 cm x 70 cm ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved (detail)

If you like my artwork, fell free to follow me on Steemit, I will probably follow you back 😁

You can also visit my official website at:

http://www.mattbates.net

I look forward to reading your comments about my adventures in space!

Sort:  

This is another great collection @matteopaints. I appreciate the story line you provide with your paintings.

@artzone, is everything ok over there? Thank you!

Thanks dandays!!!!! Have a great day!!!😎

@matteopaints, I’m sorry I didn’t mention @adelepazani earlier, she’s an amazing artist and a good person to follow. She does oil paintings like this but also keeps all of her followers updated with cool contests that can reward you in Steem and/or SBD.

And she’s real helpful, too, should you need assistance with video editing or dtube. 👍🏿 Happy Halloween, Matteo!

Great heads up, I have been looking for other artists on the platform!!!

These are amazing, @matteopaints ! I think you captured both the magical and the mystical feel of space <3 Amazing paintings <3

Thank you!!!!!!🎈🎉🍾🥂🎈🤩

Dude ! I would love for you to have one of your canva as a cover art for my music!!!
click on the link to see how you can participate
https://steemit.com/art/@edprivat/50-steem-cover-art-contest-latest-single-another-day-ed-privat-produced-by-heaterville

And you will get 50STEEM?? Is that cooL??

You're amazing!

I’ll get right on it bro!😎

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83