How to Sketch a Portrait Freehand in 45 Minutes

in #art6 years ago

I live in a neighborhood where a lot of people pass away. Or maybe it's just that I've lived here so long, and I know my neighbors. Whatever the case, it gives me opportunities to do portraits.

One of my neighbor's friend's sister died recently, and she asked me if I could draw a sketch of her to commemorate her.

I agreed, and when I had some time in my crazy studio schedule, I got out my paper, and pencils and started sketching.

I set up the photo on my Kindle Fire, right next to my paper and started working.

J_Higgins_Sister_Sketch-800px.jpg

Here is a video showing how I drew it, from start to finish, in about 45-50 minutes.

If you do freehand drawings like this, you will find your skills to paint will also improve too.

Have a blessed day,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please comment, upvote, follow me ( @mattphilleo ) and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts. You are helping me to do art full-time and support a family. Thank you so much!--Matt

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

Awesome drawing.

Thank you, Offgrid!

Helpful to watch your process, very well described.
Thanks

You're welcome, Straightwalker. Glad it helps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98