Sugar Witch, cartoony style coloring TUTORIAL and process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sugar Witch

Untitled1864_20180812201442.png

Untitled1860_20180812152843.png

Hello Steemians or.. Steamians? I dunno I can't get your names right.

Welcome back to an another old art I did! Also.. Have you noticed how fancy this blog looks like now hmmm? Ya like it? Hmmm? ',:)

"No one cares, Maya" shut up inner doubts! Anyways today I'm showing you an another old art, I was doing something stylised, since all I do is realistic or semi realistic? :0

I was worried I didn't have any progress of this but it turns out I did!! Wooohoo! Hurray for me.

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Story(?)

I thought she might be just a normal candy princess, like all of my cute OC's they just become test characters because of me cannot come up a story for them

I do like how she looks, but she might just be some background character, like a queen of candy, but that story is already taken huh? cough Adventure Time.

I mean I know just because a story is taken doesn't mean you cannot put a spin to it either, but I guess candy witch is more cooler? Maybe she turns stuff into candy or food, and every human antagonize her because she accidentally made everything to candy.

Then she is kinda hunted down by humans and other people, and now is hiding somewhere in her candy made house in the sky.

Untitled1860_20180812152843.png

Progress!!

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Faq:

Time: 3 hours
Programz: ibisPAIN
Tool or phone brands: lgxpower

Tutorials are dry to read and boring, I know I know! I'll try to make it entertaining as possible, sorry I don't have a fun thing to do after this '-')

So alrighty letsa go with progress! First off, like any 1000 steps that I do

What should I do??

Screenshot_2018-08-12-11-57-09-1.png
Screenshot_2018-08-12-16-20-14-1.png

That's right! Sell your soul to the devil, and then sketch the picture that you're thinking of in your mind, it's kinda trials and errors, I had trouble with the mouth. But glad things kinda work out for me in the end with the mouth.

Screenshot_2018-08-12-16-20-35-1.png

So then lineart, starting it out with black lines,

Screenshot_2018-08-12-16-20-48-1.png

and I turned to brown-ish, to make it seem more "aesthetic" 😫👌 oh boy. Also..

Untitled1863_20180812175719.png

Tip: use the stabilizer tool, trust me its cool, it also makes the lines more "stable" I should say? Or not wonky as hell. If your art program doesn't have it, then.. I dunno find one that can? Also if you have like a pen preassure then thats also more cooler, (because I don't have it right now)
'-')d

Screenshot_2018-08-12-16-20-56-1.png

Then I color it as usual, I used bright colors like yellow, pink, I made it desaturated so your eyes won't bleed into oblivion.

Also TIP:
Always move your goddamn color wheel, if your picture wants to be more colorful, even with a lot of tutorials out there some people haven't got that message yet.

Untitled1861_20180812174343.png

Also, I have to look at the environment (or imagine it if you haven't drew it yet) if the color is pink, then I made it pink-ish because colors are connected with each other, you can color someones skin purple as hell but it'd still look like human skin because why?! The god DAMN ENVIRONMENT!!!! AAAAAAA!!!

Untitled1772_20180812184523.png

YOU SEE THIS HAIR
PAY ATTENTION
IT LOOKS WHITE RIGHT?!

BUT HERES AN ANIME PLOT TWIST!

Capture+_2018-08-12-18-46-08.png

IT'S ACTUALLY LIGHT PINK-ISH PURPLE

But why did you think it was white in the first place? BECAUSE YOU THINK ITS A SHADING OF WHITE!!

Now you understand what I'm saying? :00

"Can you stop using capslock?" Oh shut up you son of a bitch-

Screenshot_2018-08-12-16-22-03-1.png

Alrighty after all of that coloring and shading I started to make things look interesting with blending layers!!

Screenshot_2018-08-12-12-14-46.png

It has a lot of work, since I couldn't tell which one is a good way to make the image interesting so I settled on this.

And some final edits and....

Untitled1860_20180812152843.png

Finished!!

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Untitled1021_20180812130732.png

Hurray! How about you guys? Have yoy followed everything that I said? Have you learned anything? I hope you did

If not then.. I dunno? If anyone wanna ask questions or anything then yeah sure I'd probably reply soon

And that's all from me

Please visit my instagram!

https://www.instagram.com/realmaya525/

Capture+_2018-08-06-14-04-42.png

Vote to support if ya wanna, if you have questions or anything, comment or something, I'll mostly reply, I hope it has helped some people. Thanks for stickin around. And that's all from me, sweet nightmares.

Untitled1860_20180812152621.png

Sort:  

nice draw but she looks a bit dumb no? not sure if was willfully XD

Ooh interestjng, she is a bit dumb, and I imagine she keeps messing shit up, but she always wants the best for everyone and be happy 'v'

But I dunni about the drawing haha, I just drew how she looked like.

so lovely colors! kawaii !!! :)

Omg!! Thankyou Shiba! ;v;d I like your colors too

The legendary shibasaki!!!
Give respects to sensei!

I already am 👀

I love the borders! How did you make the swirly borders? Your drawing is always great Mai ^-^/

Aaaahhh! You make me blush! Thankyou omnom!! U//w//U
Also I just drew the borders myself 😀

Hmm... I wonder if I can draw borders myself too? But you did it with digital art right?

Yeahp its all digital ^^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

That’s a really nice palette, you have great skills!
Upvoted.

Thankyou very much!! I'll do my best! :0

Cute :> Her eyes are bright and huge !

SpiDYYY THANKS!! ;3; and ye her eyes are big 0.0

I really like your drawing, it's very colorful and her expression is very cute :D

Thanks drupi!!! :0 i like your drawings too!

I don't understand this strange voodoo magic you are using with the computer...but it turned out great!

Thankyou! I used the devils soul to weave off the colors and scent of the drawings ^~^

I think my apps have stabilisers, not sure if I use them though or just don't realise I'm using them. In the case of lineart in Krita if I have to do lineart I tend to just keep going over the damn line until it's right XD

And hey just because other things have got candy princesses doesn't mean you can't have one too :D

And as I said before, this is kinda cute XD

Thankyou Ryi!!! ;;v;;
Yeah stabilizers are cool because my fingers are shaky when it comes to digital art!

And truee, but I guess I could say it's more original now? :0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81