Emerging Buddhas

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Indira Johnson is installing 100 “emerging Buddhas” around Chicago as part of a public art project called Ten Thousand Ripples that is intended to start conversations in communities about peace.

image

It was not immediately obvious to me what they were intended to represent, but after learning that you can find the sculptures emerging from the earth in vacant city lots, urban gardens and in diverse communities, it seems the intention is to simply to get people talking about peace.

image


Remember to look for wall shadows this week!

Shadow Photo Contest-Round 18- WALL SHADOWS

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

hi @ Melinda010100 ! your pictures are so beautiful !

Thank you for your kind words!

Nice one post and your photography is really amazing

Thank you!! I am so glad you like it!

Beautiful photo, Melinda! The first looks like a Pink Floyd vinyl cover.

Lol! I remember that Buddha cover!

I like this very much! Thanks for sharing dear! :)

What are those made of?

Fiberglass and resin, and each weighs around 200 lbs.

Wow, that can't be stolen :)

Interesting idea but I wondered why the buddha has no mouth? It doesn't speak I guess :) I wonder how it represents peace? Silence?

Nice shots anyway :)

I certainly can't answer your questions! 😉 I didn't have a clue as to why they were in the park!

😂😂 I wonder how too. But I've read Buddha is great, and represents peace and more. Maybe someone got to explain it somehow

The community has been responding with different celebrations, ...hanging paper cranes in the park, events for children, dances, picnics. There are 100 heads around the city to hopefully remind people that violence is not the answer.

That's good enough for me ;)

It is a philosophy of peace and love for all living things. They don’t want to kill a fly.
Many Buddhist monks are living here on the Island. They have built palatial building to house the monks. I haven’t seen them with hair like your photo. I see them with their shaven heads and wearing orange robes at the grocers. They have an open house once a year. I haven’t gone but hope to take it in sometime.
The women Buddhists, who live in different buildings than the men, have shaven head and wear gray robes.

The Deer Park Buddhist Center is near me, and the Dalai Lama has visited there several times. It is such a lovely culture.

Interesting photograph. makes you think :-)

Thank you. I hope the placement and publicity that they are receiving will make a difference.

Un projet d'art public pour transmettre un message de paix et de non violence. j'aime à croire que l'art peut participer à ce processus ! Merci melinda010100 pour le découverte de cette artiste【ツ】

Chicago needs to be reminded that violence is not the solution. I'm glad you enjoyed seeing this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76