Foundations: Part 1

in #art6 years ago

IMG_5126.JPG

This is where things began. Actually they began with a bunch more crappy paintings than the ones I'm sharing here, but I threw those away years ago. I dug around in my closet and blew the dust and cobwebs of of these old painting to take out on the deck and shoot for you guys.

IMG_5125.JPG

These are all oil paintings and all but one are from life. This is how I learned to paint. When I was in arts school I was fortunate enough to have access to free workshops several times a week. On a typical week I'd go to anywhere from 6-10 workshops in addition to my classes.

This is the one not from life
IMG_5121.JPG

I think nowadays there's a debate on whether or not art school is worth the money, and my answer is it can be. There is a lot there that you can take advantage of, but a lot of people don't. If I'm being honest and realistic, if I wouldn't have gone to art school, I wouldn't be an artist today. That's just me, people do it all the time, but I don't think I would have.

IMG_5120.JPG

IMG_5122.JPG

IMG_5142.JPG

Also I know I've mentioned before that I think the best way to learn to paint overall is landscape painting from life. This is a pretty boring looking painting, but I remember I learned a lot painting stuff like this.

IMG_5141.JPG

IMG_5160.JPG

Thanks for looking and listening to my ramblings peeps. How important do you think foundations are? How many of my fellow artists here are schooled vs unschooled? For those that are schooled, how was your school experience? Worth it? Would love to hear your inputs! :)

Sort:  

Wow, amazing paintings 😲

Good creations of humans through your so good painting seems just like photographs.good hard work.

i didn't go to art school :< wish i had ! these are really lovely pictures, @midlet ! it's amazing that even your old works are already showing how talented you are <3

It was a good experience, and I learned a lot, but you and many others are proof it's not totally necessary. You're still making really awesome stuff that lots of people enjoy :)

people can enjoy shit posts and memes also tho

not saying much

...

XD;;;;

i mean, thank you <3 but yeah, i think i lack proper foundations . __ .


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I have four of your original oil paintings. One day, I'll take some high resolution pictures of them and send them to you for your archives. :)

Ahh yea, I was going to break it into a few posts because I had so many, so that would be about one more :)

Great collection of paintings, midlet. I actually like that “boring looking painting” the most, you really captured the moody ocean feel there. Really lovely.

-upvoted-

It's actually one of my favorites too @scrawly. It was kind of a breakthrough moment that I remember because I felt like I'd captured the lighting pretty well, where up until then I hadn't really.

great art works :O
my favorite is the first one ^^
ummm... how long do you have painting? :)
it looks like you have a lot of experience

These paintings are from around 2007. Before this I'd started painting about two years before, and while two years might not sound that long, I was typically painting and drawing all day everyday for two years, so in terms of mileage it was quite a bit.

I think that only those who have a serious academic school of realistic painting and drawing can call themselves an artist.

I was expelled from the Academy of Arts for professional inadequacy and incompetence.

I LOVE the painting of the woman! So many interesting things going on in that painting - a bit of storytelling or at least room for the imagination to create one. Very cool!
I think learning the structure of the body and some formal training is really important - it's a great foundation to be able to jump off of. If we don't have the underlying structure right, people won't know exactly what's wrong with it, but they'll know it's not accurate. Being able to draw figures accurately allows us more creative freedom because we can start to draw what we imagine - and that is a magical place to be!
I'm following you and up-voted this. So fun to see your work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87