Technolith + I won the blocktrades contest! Woot!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

9s3rie2ztk.jpg

Lately I've been getting really into the Joe Rogan podcasts where he has people on talking about their theories and evidence for ancient civilizations. Really interesting stuff. I wouldn't have imagined that the scientific evidence for this has come as far as it has. Like there is a pretty compelling argument for the actual existence for Atlantis.

Also I knew that there were things we didn't know about the construction of say the pyramids, but I'd never read about the specifics or understood exactly how crazy some of that stuff is.

Anyway that was a little bit of the inspiration behind this image. Just a little though, other than the fact that it has one really big building among a bunch of smaller buildings it's mostly a generic sci-fi city hehe.

Making this is a combination of 3D and 2D techniques. I was reminded about this cool little app, JDisplacement by an artist I just found the other day here on Steem @francescomai(cool stuff over there, you should check him out) This app basically produces greeble and has a few controls to be able to define how you want the greeble to look. I've got a post somewhere back in the archives where I was talking about greeble, but I was doing a lot of experimenting of making my own. This app is pretty cool because it's really fast and easy as well as being procedural.(Just sliders to make adjustments), but yea that was the majority of the 3D part, then there's a few other kitbashed buildings and parts in there to break it up.

After that I brought it into After Effects, then Photoshop to finish up.

Here's some of the 3D passes
hc4ivo2t72.jpg
This is called the depth pass, and I use it to add atmosphere.

krcv6lrbvt.jpg
This is a normals pass, and I can use it to select different directional normals on the surfaces, basically it allows me to relight the image if needed.

c1qsjfqryy.jpg
And this is a material ID pass which separates the objects based on the material each one has applied, in this case I can use it to add further variety in the greeble, it's subtle, but it's there.

So after a bit of tweaking and color correction in After Effects I went into Photoshop and just hand painted the clouds, the tiny flying cars and a tiny bit of touchups to some of the greebly parts to break up the repetition.

That's about it for that, in other news, I won the blocktrades contest! I was totally NOT expecting that. When I saw that there were 200+ entries I'd pretty much written off any chance of winning. But when I read how the winners were chosen(randomly from everyone who qualified) that made a bit more sense, although I typically have terrible luck when it comes to things of chance, maybe I've hit a new era in my life and should take another shot at gambling :D... nah.

I'll be getting back to my Quickstart to Steem series tomorrow talking about account creation. Thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

Congratulations on your blocktrade contest win. Your picture looks like an alien ship that set down in a smog filled city. It looks kind of sinister.

Congratulations @midlet on your contest win. You do amazing work that everyone should have the pleasure of enjoying.

Thanks so much @pyemoney :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.471 which ranks you at #6564 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 23 places in the last three days (old rank 6587).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70