Weekly Cube Paintings

in #art6 years ago

cqryk3lrvs.jpg

I caught a student cheating today. This class where we paint these material cubes has been around for years and it's a prerequisite for a lot of other classes so lots of students in the past have taken it. These students, proud of the work they've done then proceed to post these cubes online which is great, yaaaay.

But...

When new students are taking the class and they look online for reference they tend to see lots of other past student examples. Now that's not immediately an issue, but a part of what I'm trying to teach is the thinking process behind being able to look at an object and break it down to it's essential parts. ie this class is not about "copying", it's about analyizing. So if a student just copies another students work that misses the point a bit. But that's not cheating.

No this student literally turned in the exact image from the internet, flipped it horizontally and turned it in as their own work. Ughhh. Now I can typically tell if a student is cheating just by looking at the finished result, and I knew right away, so a 2 minute google search later I had the original, so now what to do.

The school where I work has a zero tolerance policy on plagiarism, being an art school, that's taken EXTREMELY seriously. Spoiler alert, I did not turn them in. As a human, who has done stupid things in my life(not this thing, but other dumb things) I figured I'd talk to them tell them I know they're a dirty cheater, and give a warning and a verbal spanking. It made me feel old, lol.

Anyway, here's proof I didn't steal these cubes off the internet!

xckrqomk49.gif

p204d8ja33.gif

What do you guys think? Would you have turned them in? I waited until everyone else had left to talk to them, so I also didn't publicly shame them. How would you have handled it? I know my art friends are pretty ruthless about plagiarizers hahaha.

Thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

Sounds like you did good. They are students, part of the learning for some. This gives a chance to reflect! If they keep on the current path, failure will come regardless.

Yea @smjn, that was pretty much my line of thinking.

I hope that your warning carried with it a failing grade for the assignment. Actions have consequences, but naive students do deserve a second chance. Sometimes, you have to play it by ear and trust your gut. Nice cubes!

Definitely. For sure they're not getting any credit on an assignment they stole.

What ever you do sets the standard for other students.

Well, I would have done the same for any of the students, but hopefully they're not crazy enough to go and tell others what they did. Artists are pretty judgy about stealing other artists work.

That's pretty cool.. hard to tell if it's a digital painting or a photo manipulation.

Thanks @vampycrafts, it's all painted. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by midlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

your art is always suprb @midlet...
due to policy of plagiarism in steemit they eaten my reputation. my reputation was 34.Actually i was forgot to give credit of a image tht's is why.. 😭

Oh this is a really cool idea to make the students analyse objects! Hmm I think you did great telling the student about it in private! Then you can see if the student improves with that feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34