My Creative Journey 21 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 09

in #art6 years ago

Every journey begins with a step...and continues with countless more. There is no end to the creative path. Only progress. To get better you have to do. Your skills, your mind, your art will not get better unless you try. And trying means you will fail a lot. But, if you keep at it, eventually you will triumph, break through, and be where you want to be. Here is another step on my journey.


Can't stop, won't stop. Trying to push out a lot of stuff this afternoon to get caught up again. It's so easy to fall behind, and when each of these posts takes like an hour or two to assemble properly...hehe, time adds up really quickly. It's 4pm already, and I still gotta draw, paint, record, and write, all before maybe relaxing. :) So, I'm gonna get to it quick.

20180505_180046.jpg

Last night...seriously...insane. Thanks to donations I was finally able to buy some color to mess with. Now, I've never worked with color before...maybe way way way way back as a kid with crayons and colored pencils...wait, there was a night I messed with crayons about a month ago...but, nothing serious. But, last night, I really got into it. But, never having worked with it I had no idea WTF to do, lol. Never had a class, never been shown how to do it.

A thousand questions formed the moment I set the canvas down. What color do I start with, what am I going to draw (especially for my first), what's going to be the second color, what will each color represent, why will I be using certain colors for certain things?

God, endless questions. But, like any blank canvas, I just started with a stroke and went from there. One of these days I might do actual prep and decrease the number, but I'm sure that lovely stress before it begins will always remain. At least, I hope it does, I mean, the feeling when you overcome it and begin...awesome.

I decided to do the smart thing and record my first painting, as the next episode of Watch me Paint!, and for posterity :) Don't worry, my head isn't in it for the majority...like older videos, lol.

Music: Erick de Jesús



20180505_191558.jpg

For the next one I wanted to try something different.

I had used green as the first color on this first one, so I decided to see what it would be like to switch it up to use blue. As I've been doing for a while, I decided to live cast this on Instagram so that my fans and friends could watch it. The reason I mention this is because it lead to something really important...someone bought this painting that night! As in, after I finished the live cast they hit me up via private message and gave me a good number. So, in the next several days, maybe week depending on my work schedule, I'll be sending that out.

20180505_204951.jpg

I think this is actually my favorite of the three I did last night. I love the way all the strokes feel so much like graphic arts. Almost like an old school comic...but more vivid. Kinda hard to see in a picture, but, in real life, so cool. It was hard to say 'yes' to the person, but, I really want my art out there, spreading to people who enjoy it. And, also, the money is really nice, hehe. Gotta always have my mind thinking about that money. Dreams gotta be built with something, hehe.

I leave it to you to decide what you want to see :) This painting definitely taught me some lessons about how to use the paint...and as to which colors I like and which order to lay them down in. Something that became abundantly clear with the third painting.

20180505_205005.jpg

This one needs red...bad. And, instead of green or blue, I decided to start with yellow. Bad idea. I had this great design, but because the color was so bright, when I started laying shadows the outline just kinda got lost. So, perhaps the lesson for this kind of painting is, darker first? Start with outline, then middle tones, then shadows, and finally highlights?

I cannot emphasize enough, thinking about that kind of stuff as you're learning.

Always question the process. What works the best? What sucks? What do you like? What do you hate? For example, with these larger canvases I might try and paint them differently. Well, I'm going to, tonight, when I get home. Find what you like to do, how you like to do it, and the best way to do it :)

Like I said at the beginning, I got miles to go before I sleep tonight, so I don't want to spend too much time on this stop. These paintings were my first color ones, so I was really excited about them. Right now, I'm more excited about what I'm going to try and do tonight. Whether it will come out awesome, or horrible, I have no idea nor do I care. Just another step forward...as long as I take the time to analyze before trying to move anywhere.

As always, thank you so much for stopping by and looking :) Your words and votes mean a lot to me on this journey of mine. I'm at the most beginning of beginnings so your patience with my ignorance is much appreciated. Hope y'all have a great day!

Wessel

I'd like to dedicate this post to Christina + Eric, George + Marlis, Marisol, and Tony, for the support in my artistic endeavors :)


Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 20 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 03
My Creative Journey 19 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 02
My Creative Journey 18 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 01
My Creative Journey 17
My Creative Journey 16
My Creative Journey 15 PT 2 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 08
My Creative Journey 14 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 07
My Creative Journey 13 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 12 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 05
My Creative Journey 11 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 04
My Creative Journey 10 + Watch Me Paint! Ep. 03
My creative journey 9
My creative journey 8
My creative journey 7
My creative journey 6
My creative journey 5
My creative journey 4
My creative journey 3
My creative journey 2
My creative journey 1


See available original drawings for sale

Currently $20 ea + $5s/h
37 new drawings up. 5 sold
1 painting sold

DONATE :)




Sort:  

So unique, interesting, and just a captivating painting. Thanks
@mikesthoughts . And also love the music :)

Thanks for dropping by again @robertandrew! Always appreciate the comments :) Bit by bit, and so far to go, hehe.

I was not really aware of thoughts behind any art. Somehow I guess I thought it just happened somehow because the person is talented. Gee, maybe I was wrong. Can understand now why people study art. It might be a natural talent but needs to be fed and nurtured.

You could put a bkank canvas in front of me and two to smoke......I'd have millions of images and still a blank canvas. No connection or coordination here between inspiration and hands.

Admire your drive and persistence. Nice work

And to emphasize, I do actually color, with crayons, as a passtime. Works for little old ladies. Hehe

Maybe I'll send you one for a grin.

Send me art please! :) I love stuff like that. And if you msg me your address I can send you a postcard as well :)

Yeah, I can't do stuff without thinking about the why... I mean, anyone really can learn the technicals when it comes to art. How to do the perfect whatever...but it's the 'why' that gives the drawing their life. It's that little modification that the person doing the art does that's different than someone else. And, to be able to do that, there needs to be at least some understanding of the driving force behind whatever comes out.

And, I completely get that million-ideas-blank-canvas thing. It's so hard to bridge that gap between the two. I think that's because at the beginning, what comes out is nowhere close to where we think it's supposed to be. The communication between mind and muscle breaks down because the muscle doesn't know the moves yet. It takes grit and patience to get through the process to get the two in sync. If you want it, and if you're willing to wade through the rivers of tears you'll shed...it's there waiting :)

Art is art, no matter the age :)

Once again, this is all just my opinion. Everyone understands art and the process behind it differently. There's no one right path or way to think...and that's a lot of the fun :)

This is making sense. Not to minimize but kind of like hand writing. They show you what lines to draw and from there it is all ours.

Writing is similar. Blank page, sometimes an end in mind but not sure how to get there, etc.

I have a better understanding of why people study art. Learn the tricks and make them your own. Never really thought about the coordination and traing between mind and muscle. Things we do without thinking take time and repetitiveness, imagine art is similar. There are times though to just take a deep breath and plunge ahead.

I'd feel silly sharing any of the stuff I color. It is simply a harmless passtime to keep my hands busy while my mind works. Nothing original except color choices, no comparison to real art. But thanks for your interest.

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

73883

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84