My Creative Journey 49 + 50 (shit tons of art...)

in #art6 years ago

Holy shit it's been a crazy couple of days. Other than battling a nasty depressive funk things have been looking pretty up. I got hit by another creative push that's left me a bit breathless, if I'm being totally honest with myself.

During my live last night I pulled out my first sketchpad...the first one I ever did back in January, and compared it to the work I was doing at that moment. If I was looking for something to show me progress, I don't think I could have found anything better. It was a good feeling. Most definitely got an out of body feeling from it all. Might have had something to do with what I was smoking too...but, it's important to have those moments every once and a while where you give a nod to yourself. No matter the state of mind, hehe. Just gotta remember to keep it in check.

I'm gonna throw Monday and Tuesday together because I'd rather be making art than writing about it and trying to catch more money with more posts. It's awesome to feel so energized about something you do, or want to do. It's so scary thinking about what I have to do, and what what I want to do really entails. I mean, become an artist? Wtf? Every step forward I see how many more head off into the distance. I can't even see how far. Not to mention figuring out how to make it something I can live and retire off of. It's a weight, and like a retired artist friend buddy said, 'once you're an artist you can't go back. ever.' I'm not talking about people who want to learn how to draw, paint, sculpt, whatever. I mean the people who see all of those as just a means to an end. To express this deep inexpressible feeling... anyways.

To the art and all that :) Or, the precursors of art, however you wanna look at it.

...damn...putting all these combos together...didn't realize I had drawn this much, lol. I wanna get good, real good at this...

So, art(ish) stuff!

20180606_172554 combo.jpg

20180606_172606 combo.jpg

Yeah, I'm in the middle of a love affair with ink. I love the way it flows. The way it looks when dry. How it works with the energy I've got going right now. I do take time out to sketch in charcoal. Basically preparing for when I get off my lazy ass to get a newspaper print sketch book...24x36 because I really can't stay in the lines of smaller pages without a lot of effort :\ My artist friends look at my natural stroke and it's decent sized, or so they tell me. I love that detail work, but, damn do I also love just sweeping my arm across the paper putting down ink.

20180606_172619 combo.jpg

20180606_172630 combo.jpg

Draw, draw, draw, draw, draw, draw... I have some color, I should try and figure out how to use it, lol. This is going from Monday night's work into last nights work...

20180606_172644 combo.jpg

20180606_172719 combo.jpg

Evolution.

20180606_172837 combo.jpg

And there's several pieces sitting at home that I forgot to take pictures of and I don't want to wait on posting this...

20180606_175430 combo.jpg

Oh, yeah. Forgot to mention. Picked up that newspaper pad my friend(s) recommended. Holy shit... Like a different gate in me opened up. It was like opening a window. And, you know all those crazy skull things I've been drawing...they paid off, in spades. So, point...everything builds into everything. The most mundane, misunderstood, whatnot, can be turned into gold if you know what to look for.

I wanted to sketch people who were smoking...weed most likely.

20180606_175444 combo.jpg

20180606_175459 combo.jpg

Funny thing was during the live a buddy from the coffee shop who happened to be watching my stream gave a shoutout and asked for me to draw Heisenberg...Walter White...from Breaking Bad. Probably because that's the show I was watching at the time. But, maybe also because I kinda look like him right now. Which is funny because at first my friend thought I was doing a self-portrait...until I came to the glasses and eyes, then he saw it. That was before I on the forehead lines...my forehead looks a lot younger, lol.

From zero to this in like, 4 months. People around me are beginning to react to it as well. I was chilling with some barbershop buds (yes, in my neighborhood there's like 20 barbershops and each one has a diverse crew of people who chill, go to, and work there. One of them was the guy I'd chatted with the other night, and the other was someone else. Awesome guys both. It happened to be time for a smoke, and when the guy I hadn't talked with about my wall piece found out I had painted it, man, was he enthused. He said some pretty amazing things about the piece...and the nod from a local, seriously...

I need to take a pause here. Some people might think I'm bragging. I'm not. I spent almost 7 years as a photographer doing amazing work but not having anyone really notice, care, or talk about it. Once again, it's not ego saying that, it's the industry people I know who have no reason to lie. But, apparently the universe didn't want me doing that. I resisted a change for so long. But, when I finally cracked, and let the rudder shift a bit...just a bit, then, wham!

Now, things feel like their going at a glaciers pace, and everything is going wrong, and no one cares...but that's me looking through the lens of depression. It's actually the complete opposite. And, in moments of clarity between the darkness, I see a hopeful future...if I stay strong. The thing is, the stronger I hold this course, the harder things get for me on a level I cannot even begin to express...but, I know the final output of that will equal those feelings in every way. I just need to stay whole through the process...but, anyways...

So, hopefully you can see why I'm so up front and happy about that moment, or about how my work is looking, or my progress, whatnot. Because, seriously...things are finally moving forward.

But, now I must move on and back to creation. I got a buddy coming to the coffee shop for some pizza, then to smoking and drawing while chilling. Kind of has the potential for an awesome evening. I've never created like this with a friend, lol. Sounds so dirty...and hopefully I'll find the right girl some day to create some truly amazing art...but, until then, alien sketches while smoking weed and watching bad TV.

Thank you for stopping by and looking at my mad creative journey :) Hope to hear what you have to think about all this. Good, bad, pretty, ugly, lay it on me folks!

Oh, I also want to say, I got some of my dope art up on merchandise. If you like graphic skull art, I got some cool pieces ready for sale on stuff. Got a little obsessed with that for a minute, so got lots to post still. But, everyone I sent a link to so far has said, 'DOPE!' Or some equivalent.

Please check it out here

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 6.43.59 PM.png

Wessel



Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 48
My Creative Journey 47
My Creative Journey 46
My Creative Journey 45
My Creative Journey 44
My Creative Journey 43
My Creative Journey 42
My Creative Journey 41
My Creative Journey 40
My Creative Journey 39
My Creative Journey 38
My Creative Journey 36 + 37 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 16
My Creative Journey 35 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 15
My Creative Journey 33 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 14
My Creative Journey 32 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 13
My Creative Journey 31 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 7
My Creative Journey 30 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 12
My Creative Journey 29 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 06
My Creative Journey 28
My Creative Journey 27
My Creative Journey 26 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 11
My Creative Journey 25 + Watch me Draw! Ep. 05

See available original drawings and paintings for sale

DONATE :)





Sort:  

They are all very well made and very particular drawings ... I really like the three evolutions of the skulls ... congratulations

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25