My Creative Journey 52, 53, 54...55? Do numbers really matter?

in #art6 years ago

Damn, if you put off writing for more than a couple days the wall to start again gets really big really fast. I'm going to fight all the anxiety I got riding on my shoulders about other stuff, and the unknown dread I get from thinking about writing this post, and just get it out. I'm not scared people won't like my work...it's, well, a bit deeper. It's so strange when even the idea of writing a post, doing something, becomes an event that can get my heart beating fast... sigh

But, anyways, there's a lot to get through so let me get right too it. The last several days have seen the tide in and the tide out. Great ideas and quiet nights. Even a night off. But, that was more on accident. I had planned to do art, but, then, being a Saturday, my friend had more social ideas.

And...putting all these image combos together...I just realized there are like 7 other 24x36 sketches I did that were pretty dope, lol. Ahh well, another day.

20180609_135221 combo.jpg

20180609_135231 combo.jpg

It seems I've been a little obsessed with ink lately. There's something about the flow that's been getting to me. So many possibilities with the water and mixing aspect of it. A lot of my ideas right now are just rehashing the things I've been working on. Occasionally I throw in a riff, like the angel with a sword, more gas masks with text, but, pretty steadily the same thing. I'm not sure if I'm stuck, or just trying to get to a point of mastery where my unconscious feels satisfied...

20180609_135241 combo.jpg

I'm not sure when I picked up the red, but I did. I needed something to balance out the blue I'd already bought...and, I also ended up buying the green in the series. On a lot of stuff I've done I really love the muted tones. Subtle, comic-like, working well with a lot of the stroke types I've been using lately.

20180609_135300 combo.jpg

20180608_154820.jpg

I think it was Sunday that I decided to do a post card challenge. Once again I wanted to see if I could pump out 15 cards in one day...and what they would look like. I got my start for the day while I was out with some barista friends checking out other coffee shops to see what they were like. My friends are dope, and the level to which they've become interested in coffee is pretty cool. Occasionally we get to tag along and get to learn while they chat. They enjoyed their pulls of espresso...I enjoyed mine while inking.

20180609_135345 combo.jpg

From the count...if you're checking. It looks like two are missing. One was another color skull that is really dope...and the other was a fuck-up. In the rush to get everything together it looks like I forgot some more, hehe. And, it looks like I also included a shot from what happened last night...which was an even different set of work, lol. I think there might be a reason why I feel like I can't pull anything creative out today. I've already tried a bunch of stuff and...very, very, very little building blocks. Still, something.

Right now there are like a thousand battles being waged in my head...and not just the depressive stuff (which sucks).

What is art?
Am I doing art?
Is what I'm doing good?

I've preached a hundred times, a thousand, about all the answers to those questions. But, that doesn't make the questions go away some days. The only thing that matters about what I'm doing is me. And, while sounding selfish, remember that art is about self-expression. And, to be able to self-express well, one must be confident in ones own opinion, hehe. And, when due to being tired, hungry, depressed, whatever, there are times when I doubt, those answers I usually give just sound like bullshit. But, I know it's just another day I have to muddle through. To push through the curtain and hope there's not another curtain after this one. Weird metaphor, but, I think a lot of people out there get it.

That's where I'm sitting at right now, hehe. But, it's just another day. And, instead of dwelling on that I'm going to go watch someone do art, then maybe try and do some myself. Hate myself for every crappy stroke I do and cringe at the wasted resources. Then, check back the next day on what I did and realize it's not as bad as I thought it was.

Anyways, gonna stop with the babbling as I don't think I have anything more of value really to say. Or, maybe I never really did, lol. Maybe we're all just programs in a computer running a simulation? Whatever. :)

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you enjoyed what you came across. I'd love to hear what y'all got to think. There's a lot of cool stuff coming up I think. And I appreciate the people who are following along on this journey. Be well and Happy Tuesday!

Wessel



Previous posts:
My Creative Journey 51
My Creative Journey 49 + 50 (shit tons of art...)
My Creative Journey 48
My Creative Journey 47
My Creative Journey 46
My Creative Journey 45
My Creative Journey 44
My Creative Journey 43
My Creative Journey 42
My Creative Journey 41
My Creative Journey 40
My Creative Journey 39
My Creative Journey 38
My Creative Journey 36 + 37 + Watch me Paint! Ep. 16

See available original drawings and paintings for sale

DONATE :)

Original work for sale on Etsy

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 6.04.48 PM.png

Merchandise with my art available on Society 6

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 6.43.59 PM.png





Sort:  

Hello @mikesthoughts, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Always appreciate the love from y'all :) Keep up the awesome work! Thanks for helping to make this a better community.

Dude you've done how many skulls and have yet to say memento mori...remember death.

Lol! No, I haven't. Not yet. This whole art thing is new to me. I used to be a photographer, but we were never weird enough to say stuff like that. Might have scared the models, hehe. But, now that I'm painting I can go nuts with saying weird stuff...as long as the art is good :) Thanks for dropping by. Gonna have to use that memento Mori somewhere... :)

Nothin' wrong with weird. Normal can be boring. Us weird folk have way better parties anyhow.

Health, wealth, and happiness to you :P

Pretty interesting as Snook recommended you and I saw the wonderful comment that you left on one of my posts and wanted to check your art out.

Art can be self expression and I have always admired people who can be honest with their creation in paper and ink.

It is something I wanted to do and lacking the talent I still tried but was not satisfied with it.

Yet seeing your journey may inspire me to take it up again someday.

Creating art to express feeling isn't about talent...unless you're trying to get it seen and bought by other people. That's I think one of the fundamental issues that prevents people from starting. It's not about how 'good' it is. No one is great at the beginning. Don't wait until 'someday.' Someday will never, never come. And, you'll look back, and wish you had started on the day that you said 'someday' on. I mean, what's stopping you? Twenty minutes a day. One little drawing. A Youtube tutorial about how to do something and a bit of practice. Set a timer. Forget to judge, and just have some fun. Maybe even join me for the #selfportraitsunday I started ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28