Do your own art toy- Ironman Munny

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Hi Steemians. I would like to show you something that introduced me to sculpting and greatly helped me developed the skills. It is designer toys. In short, it is 3d canvas, a vinyl figure with the blank surface with features reminding animal or human depends on the model. There are many manufacturers of this already, some are big and some are small, often one person company/artist who makes the prototype and self-produce a small run. They are made of vinyl, it's a soft plastic, quite easy to cut with sharp knife. The figure is hollow inside to save on material and weight. It holds the paint well. It can be customized with paints, markers, some features can be added with polymer clay or other material. The goal is to take it as a base and convert it into your own, unique sculpture. That's why it is canvas toy.

Here is the one example of my work. I was always interested in comic books, and now as an adult, I often watch superhero movies at the cinema. I especially like the costumes from Ironman movies. I would like to someday create one lifesize and hold it in my living room in a special display. Since I live in apartments, space is limited and I need to postpone this project. I decided to make something smaller, what fits on the shelf. So I did this custom Iron Man Mark 42 based figure.

I started with my favorite blank toy, called Munny and produced by Kidrobot. I aspire to sculpt portraits because they are probably the most difficult thing to sculpt. I am self-taught, so I used this project as an opportunity to practice it a bit and sculpt Tony Stark inside the suit. I cut the part of Munny's head in the shape of the face mask and started putting Sculpey polymer clay inside the hollow head. I spent 3 evenings trying to capture Robert Downey Jr. likeness. It started as a realistic, symmetrical and boring face. I started enlarging eyes, bending nose and modified it to look little more like a caricature. What fits it better, because Munny's head is bigger than the typical human body. I was not sure if it will look right till I painted him.

After I was pleased with this stage I could proceed with the rest of the body. I sketched it on the figure and then cut the pieces in styrene which bends easily and details have good, sharp lines. The pieces were superglued to Munny's body and lightly sanded.

Everything was painted with brushes with acrylic Vallejo paints. I tested here for the first time the metal medium. It looks like silver paint, it mixes with any color and makes it look metallic. I was very satisfied with how it looked so I also did Munny version of patriot suit and many other figures based on this canvas toy, you can check them at http://themodelmaker.net/iron-man-mark-42-custom-toy-munny/ or wait until I will post them here. If you want to learn more about toy customizing or scratch building, follow me, comment and vote on my posts. Thank you!

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @mitchhunter
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mitchhunter to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 4.08 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mitchhunter. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @mitchhunter, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1527 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $809.36. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice work man-that is so cool!

Thank you. I have few more I will show here. I hope i will encourage somebody to try it and make diy toys too.

Thank you. There will be more so stay tuned ;)

That is so cool.😍😍

This looks so good! Great job! :)

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 2.76 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @mitchhunter. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

It looks so nice. I want to try this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71