Daily Doodle - Betta fish: Lines and Movement [Process]

in #art6 years ago

Greetings! 😁


Betta are a subject I frequently circle back to. I love the ripples and wrinkles that comprise their fins. I tend to picture betta as graceful and feminine creatures - which I find funny given bettas' reputation for being territorial and aggressive. 😅


MVIMG_20180510_175253.jpg
So fancy! 💃💃

The Process:


MVIMG_20180510_155246.jpg

I started with two doodles, but decided to focus on one. I masked off my highlights using Fineline Resist Pen. After the masking fluid dried, I painted a watery glaze of Lemon Yellow and slowly added diluted Peacock blue.

MVIMG_20180510_161200.jpg

Slowly building up shadows with Peacock Blue

MVIMG_20180510_162131.jpg

Graded glaze of Peacock Blue, allowed to dry completely.

MVIMG_20180510_163725.jpg

❬Narrator❭ Several layers of Peacock Blue later...

MVIMG_20180510_175253.jpg

I used a Copic Multiliner 0.3mm to outline and define the folds.

Materials:

Paper - 4.5" x 6" piece of Aquabee watercolor paper
Paint - Mijello Mission Gold Watercolor
Linework - Copic Multiliner 0.05mm
Highlights - Fineline Resist Pen

Thanks for looking - until next time!



Other daily doodles:

Cacti Glazing
Glazing Practice
Simple Peonies
Cacti and Succulent Doodles
Mexican Gold Poppies

Sort:  

Ooo it's beautiful! I agree, with the big flowy fins, it looks very feminine.

Thank you (:

I was wondering the whole time reading what type of paper you were using and it was included at the bottom! Thank you.

Absolutely gorgeous art. I love the detail.

No problem (:

Thank you!

gosh this makes me appreciate art even MORE!

you have a very elegant style in watercolor

Thank you! 😊

posts that are very inspired and creative @mizapizza, especially whenever I see posts about art and sometimes I want to try it.

Thank you! You should definitely give it a try! You might find you really like creating art too. (:

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73