Custom Opal Ring.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Today’s topic is a little different than my usual makeup tutorials, but it has something to do with jewelry which isn’t that off topic. Mostly you’ll see people with beautiful makeup, wearing the latest fashion trends and stunning jewelry.

A few weeks ago, my husband and I drove to the Port Douglas Market which is close to Cairns, Australia. We love going to local markets because you’ll never know what treasures you’ll find. Doesn’t matter if it’s clothes, jewelry, food or souvenirs. We just love it!

Port Douglas.png

There we stumbled upon a woman who creates handmade handbags in all different sizes. One of the bags had a tree of life on it and it was made from sterling silver and green stones that looked like leaves. It was so beautiful! She told us that she met the guy who made the tree for her bag at this market and we should have a look at their stall.

While we were talking to her, the guy passed her stall and we had a quick chat together.
After we finished talking to her, we had a look around the whole market and found the jewelry stall.

We recognized the guy from earlier and he runs the stall with his wife.

Having a quick look over their stall was a good idea because they are selling opal stones and jewelry which directly caught my eye!

Opal Stone.png

Before I’m getting into the jewelry, I just want to quickly tell their story because we had quite a long chat with them.

They are both running the business and his wife crafts all the jewelry that they sell. He always gives credit to his wife (which is so cute!) and says that she does all the hard-work and creates the jewelry. They buy different types of stones (not only opal) but the stone is still in a rock. So what they are doing is buying the stones from people who get them out of caves and sell the stones to the jewelry makers. She or he (I’m not sure) cuts and polishes the stone to the final shape.

They sell individual stones that they just cut and polished as well as finished jewelry where the stones are used for a rings, chains or earrings.

Opal Stone4.png

This is the treasure that I was looking for that you can only find at a local market. I love that they are creating these pieces of jewelry themselves and that it’s handmade! I love supporting businesses like this because they are special and original. I'd rather go to a place like this, where I know what I’m paying for than spending my money at a huge shop where it is all about the money but less quality.

While I was looking around, I spotted the opal stones and jewelry and I fell in love with a pair of earrings. I tried them on and I loved how they looked!
I got them because I found that they were special to me!

Opal Stone5.png

They had so many beautiful stones and jewelry, I would buy them all!

By the time we got home, I googled some opal rings and got the idea of asking them if they also do custom rings, they told me yes and I could show them what I wanted and they would do it.

Amazing!

Normally when you’re looking for opal rings, it always looks so old, like the ring shape and diamonds around the opal, so corny. I don’t like that because we are in 2018 not 1950.

I know that some people like it, don’t get me wrong but still they all look from the same epoch.

I asked them if the loose stones were only for selling as individuals or if I could pick one of those and they would use it for the ring. They told me that it would depend of the size of the ring so they would show me the stones that come into question.

Ok great! I told them that I would love to get a simple ring with a thin band and more like a rounded stone shape on top like this:

Opal Stone6.png

They told me that they could do it and that I should pass by their stall on Saturday to choose the stone. That’s what I did! I went to them and picked a stone so they could create it after everything has been discussed.

Opal Stone7.png

After a few days, they asked me if they should send me some pictures how the ring is made and of course I did want to know how they are doing it.

So here’s the first picture:

Opal Stone 1.png

As you can see, there is the stone that I chose with the band that has a round piece of sterling silver where the stone will be and a flat piece to make sure that the stone won’t fall out.

Next, they sent me a picture of where they have already put everything together except the stone was missing.

Opal Stone 2.png

After that picture, they asked me if I want to see the end result now or when I’m picking up the ring. So I told them that I want to see the end result when I’m picking it up. I couldn’t wait, I was so curious to see the ring.

The following Saturday, we went back to the market to pick up the ring.
The ring is perfect, amazing and personal because I chose the stone, what size and how the ring should look!

I’m so thankful that they made this ring for me!

Here is it in the box. (bad lighting)

Opal Stone10.png

But here it is on my finger! What do you think? Amazing right?

Opal Stone11.png

I also asked her if she could make me a piercing for my Helix piercing with a little opal stone in it, she’s trying to find a way on how to create it but I definitely will let you know when I get it!

The reason why I love Opals is because the stones itself never looks the same! Doesn’t matter what piece you’re taking from the rock, it always looks different and that makes the stone so unique!

I’m truly Opal addicted!

Here in their Instagram page: https://www.facebook.com/farnorthgems/
And here their Facebook page: https://www.instagram.com/farnorthgems/

You definitely should check it out because they are amazing!

xoxo, Melissa

Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel

ALL MAKEUP GEEKS, feel free to RESTEEM this article! Let's keep spreading the word with real life everyday makeup application!

If you're someone who needs recognition for amazing an special content, don't be afraid to join the Promo-Mentor Channel
Promo- Mentor.gif

mGByeGu.png

Sort:  

Hello @mvd, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@creativecrypto thank you so much :)

Mega geilen post, ech selwer hun mar di lescht puer joer selwerschmieden beibruet gehaat an maan daat op klenger scala als hobby heiheem :) Den rang ass ganz schein gemach!

Deen do post huet mech ugezunn, ech kann leider net vill mat den make-up artikelen ufenken, mee qualitativ geseit och daat gudd aus.

Mee deen doten post gefaellt mar deck gudd. Haess kinnten nach eng photo maan vun puer vun hieren aaneren kreationen fannen emmer flott ze gesin waat aaner leit kreiren.

@ravenking13 Merci! :) jo, dat ass och na eng idee, mee ech mengen man naengkeier een zweeten deel draus wann ech na Saachen kritt hunn fir dann och mei ob dei anner Schmuckstecker anzegoen dei se man :) Jo, wees dass Makeup vlait nik sou deng Richtung ass, mee merci fir den Feedback :D

Deck nice sin awer subscribed wann den zweeten deel kennt kucken ech mar en dann och un :D Ganz gaeren eng freet! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75