Street art series 1 - Melbourne

in #art6 years ago (edited)

8714a98c-b4db-49d6-9931-1f21c502313e.jpeg


One of my favourite things to do, especially when I am doing a tour, is admiring the local street art of the place I’m in.

Why do I love street art so much?
Because the act of creating street art usually begins as a recalcitrant act of rebellion because it is illegal in most countries and these are people that are beautifying the dullness of bland walls in urban environments with amazing art that is totally free.
They are literally turning streets into art galleries.
Now, whilst most of the street art pieces I’ll share here are likely officially commissioned, these artists grew their talents subversively on the streets late at night whilst furtively hiding from prosecution.

Like buskers, street artists are not really perceived in a favourable light in mainstream society, which is such a shame because these people bring arts to the street so that everyone has access to it, rather than only for those that have enough money to pay to appreciate art.

Melbourne has some of the most incredible street art in the world.

Here’s two awesome pieces.

Of course, I’m a musician, so any art about music will catch my eye.

And I love drawing portraits, so faces attract me the most.

What street art is in your local area?
Take a pic of your favourite local street art and put it in the comments below as I would love to see it!

More street art coming soon.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82