Love The One You’re With, Embracing My Workspace

in #art5 years ago

studio.JPG

Ta da -----> my new studio!

No it’s not the 1000 SF ceramics studio outfitted with 4 kilns, a RAM press, well-stocked shelves of materials, and much more that I just left behind in Portland, Oregon, but it is sunny, it is a fraction of the price, and so far serving my creativity and most importantly it is my own space.

It was great to have a great large studio but over the years I’ve lived face to face with the reality that the more you have - of anything - the more time, energy, resources are required to take care of it and at some point this seemingly ideal space began to feel burdensome.

When scoping out places to move to, we did our best to balance our needs for living and for working but also for an affordable life. It was also very important to be close-ish to NYC and also not too far from my family and friends spread out over New England.

IMG-9640.JPG

We knew there would be concessions and were even more willing to compromise given that we had to find a space and fast. I was ok with that and even looked forward to a smaller and simpler space that was more manageable and affordable. I’ve craved the freedom of a low overhead and now I have it.

IMG-9670.JPG

It’s been 2-1/2 months now and I can confirm that I can manage with very little in terms of space to make my ceramic work but I must have bandwidth and support. I’ve found that with my partner’s support, my tiny space here is private even when it’s physically not at all. I thought I’d have at least a door to close, but it's basically an extension of our living room with a thin curtain I can close.

It's been ok though because we have such a healthy respect of each other’s need for creative life force, privacy and space. His painting studio is upstairs so if he’s home, he’s very often there so even though my space is open, I have found the feeling of privacy.

My new space lean, clean and svelte, and even cute. So far it is working out ok so while this isn’t large, nor does it meet all my needs, it is what I have and I’m grateful everyday to have a space to work.

IMG-9566.JPG

divider.jpg

IMG-9880 tiny.jpeg

aka Ruth Frances Greenberg, I am a ceramic artist who makes mosaics, tile and all things clay from my home studio in rural Connecticut. I’m here on Steemit to offer my support and friendship to creatives, individuals and projects that I value and want to see more of in the world. The decentralized economy and blockchain technology are promising and I am very pleased to be a part of this exciting new revolution.
Your support means the world to me and enables me to pursue my life and creativity with more freedom and opportunity, thank you! You can learn more about me and my work at www.ruthfrancesgreenberg.com

Sort:  

Well, I am only seeing this now 6 days later so you can guess how my days are going as far as schedule :) But, like you, I have embraced the change. And I think, change is good for us, especially we creatives, as we must be reminded that Change is indeed the only Constant to life and being always adaptable to that is good.

I have found over the years that less space is better. Here, in England, I have a tiny space off of my own room in the house. The house is fairly good sized, with each of us (my friends and I ) having our own rooms on separate floors to feel private time and we also have a pretty good sized kitchen a sitting room and a drawing room/living room for shared space.

My tiny bit off of my bedroom is that, tiny but I have doors to our private garden and quite honestly I don't even use it all that much,as I've come to like my little chair in the corner.

Having moved digitally makes a HUGE difference in my needs that is for certain, though I am toying with making a more 'messy' studio to work on some things on canvas and board, as we have a building next door our landlord owns that I am thinking about.

Really, with all that has been going on here with the change and kerfuffle of moving, I've spent most of my 'working time' in cafes and tea rooms and then some time late in the evening in my room. Our creativity can find us if we are always open to it and I KNOW that a move can be disruptive to our creations and schedule. But, again, change can be good and I am glad you are embracing it!

I think you have a lovely space and well, there is a dog in it, so it is perfect for me :)

Agreed - change is very healthy and it sounds like you're doing a great job embracing best of your new charming life! I can imagine that going digital has really opened up new worlds, I'm completely open to this and have intended for years to take the plunge but find that I'm drawing to the physical so there I remain for the time being.

Yes "a dog in it" makes ALL the difference :-)))

I think I'm going to make my new years art resolution to step up my own digital online social media game. I see so many other steemians with aps and things they use to cross promote and post with and I feel all at sea, so I need to get a handle on it.

Yes a dog will always make it better I think :)

The new studio looks wonderful! I bet you're relishing the freedom of less to manage. I'm still enjoying this three years after we downsized. The only thing I miss is a dedicated space to write. In our last condo I had what I called my "cloffice" (closet + office....it was really a large closet over a trundle bed platform that rolled into the wall.) Much of the early work on HardFork was done in that small space.

Yeah having a dedicated space can be important depending on what your needs are to do your best work.

For writing, it seems most important to have your own time and undisrupted headspace. It's funny because I have a desk from which to write and do creative computer stuff, and completely value this space but when I'm home alone I find myself carrying my laptop all over the place and writing from the couch, kitchen table, dining table or outside. However if I'm not home alone, I use my own desk more often. For me it's mostly about whether I'm concerned about being disrupted or pulled out of my focus.

Ahhh - it looks amazing! The windows! <3 You'll learn to work with what you have, and you will with every season discover something that works (or maybe like to improve on) for you in this space. I like working withing limitations as it makes you more creative, not less. Your art comes from so deep within you - you would probably still be creating if you were living in a paper box.

I loved seeing these images - thanks for sharing them!

I think you're right that over time the space and I will become good friends and I'll discover how to make it better as well as what's ideal about it already. Thanks for reading and your comment!

I love your new clay digs, looks really light and open, and like a fun place to work. If only those pesky life things like rent and space didn't get in the way. So glad your new chapter of life there is working out well. I like your take on 'stuff', though I'm still a bit of a stuffmeister anyway. Guess old habits die hard ( :
Have a nice Sunday

Hi @ddschteinn! Stuff is very easy to accumulate and I too appreciate stuff. I really love certain things and noted how much pleasure I had in unpacking beloved objects like my handmade cup collection. And funnily enough, after moving and getting rid of stuff I'm constantly asking "where is that...."I need lots of stuff to do the things I want to do, LOL!!!

Ha haa, yes, that always happens to me, and seems to only enforce the keeping of 'stuff'. Like you, any time I get rid of something, even if I haven't used it for years, as SOON as I get rid of it... "Where's the frapplemeister wrench? I NEED it." Never fails. Maybe it's the universe speaking to us. Or the StuffMeister MeisterStuffer Dude. Just like the REAL dude, I suppose we abide. (I just saw that movie....cracks me up.) Nice to chat with you, after such a long time. I hope to be on here more in the near future. Steemit is so much 'the bomb'. I love it on here.

Your new workspace is amazing. It has very good lighting, bright, airy, and I really like that it's not a closed off room, instead it is at the corner of your living room. And the fact that you have a good partner who can accommodate each other's need, that is the best thing to have ;).

aww thanks!! you've noted all the things I also like best about it. so many windows make a huge difference. I actually feel invited into the space by the light. xoox

You have to be thankful for low overhead!
I'm super happy that you both are up and running again.
Cheers!

Hi Ben! Thanks and Rob asked me to tell you that he's working at Whole Foods part-time here in Connecticut..he's "part of the team", lol!

It's the evil Amazon team now. :) Say hi to him for me

Being happy with what we have is an art, one I’m trying to teach my kids... and still working on myself. I’m glad you’ve made space for your creative process, though. Thanks for reminding me to be grateful for what is present here and now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

nicely said @katrina-ariel, appreciating what we have is indeed an art in itself!
Also, do you use Partiko ios on your phone to post, curate and comment and do you like it?

Gratitude is the best! As for Partiko, I really like it for simple posts and it’s great for curation/commenting. Best app I’ve tried on iPhone. They also have direct messaging already set up on non iOS, which should be available for us Mac people soon. Yay!

Posted using Partiko iOS

great to know, thanks!!

Hello @natureofbeing, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thank you @creativecrypto, I'm a big fan :-)

Wounderful photos that you share us on steem,I like it much your creativity,, lovely..

thanks so much @kanika-44

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62