My painting- oil on canvas

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Oil on canvas is one of my favorite drawing techniques, besides drawing with a pen.
This painting technique is very complex and I can say that it is difficult to deal with it. Initially, it was heavy to me to deal with oil painting, however, I think it's going very well right now. This painting technique has many drawbacks, but these defects can also be its virtues. For example, what bother many people is the long period of time needed to dry the image itself, however, on the other hand, it is positive that the image can be corrected just because of this slow color drying. My images usually dry for several months to a year, depending on the applied color layer, as well as the size of the image itself. I usually use a few colors - black, white, yellow, red, green, blue, and I get all the other colors by mixing the ones I already have, because I think that the color obtained by mixing is more realistic than the purchased color, and for that reason I prefer the mixing of colors.

As you probably know, this technique was created long ago, when Van Gogh, Leonardo da Vinci and many other famous painters lived. It is believed to have originated in the fifteenth century in order to overcome many of the painter's directions. I like the style of Van Gogh very much, and I think that he could be a good example for me. I love his way of doing things, somehow in each painting you can see that it was easy for him to draw things, that he did not have a problem with it. However, I can not say that for myself. Since I did not go to classes and I did not have anyone to teach me to draw, my drawing problems appear to me, because my hand is never relaxed, and everything has to be drawn in the way I want it, just in millimeters.

The positive side of this type of painting is the durability of the colors itself. For drawing you should used oil, I personally use olive oil, but due to this oily composition, it can happen that the canvas absorbs too much oil and paint, which can cause the canvas itself to burst. For this reason, the way of drawing on canvas is another problem ... the first layer must always be thin, so that the large amount of colors does not reach the canvas, and when the first layer is dried, the paint can be applied in several layers, so then the fear of breaking the canvas no longer exists.

For today, I have prepared my new-old painting with oil on canvas. In fact, I painted this (photo 2) a few years ago, but now I did not like it anymore, so I decided to fix it (photo 1). I did not like the second picture because of a thin layer of colors, as well as the weaknesses of the colors themselves, and also because of my amateurism. I think that I am much more prepared for this way of drawing now, and because of that I have decided to correct my work and see, the results are drastic. I hope you like it, however, if you do not like it, I expect you to give me tips on what to change in my drawing mode. :)

Below are the pictures of my drawing, as well as the parts of the drawing during work ...

As I have already said ... the first two images are the comparison of my work from 2015 (photo 2) and my work from 2018 (photo 1).

111.jpg

1.jpg

The first thing I wanted to change was the color of the sky itself. I wanted the sky to be very pronounced and be at the center of attention. I decided to reddish, with a mixture of a little yellow and orange around the sun, and of course a shift from a brighter to a darker shade and vice versa.

2.jpg

As you can see, the rusty stones were light gray, with the addition of a pencil, but now I decided to darken it and make a shadow on everyone on the left.

3.jpg

I added more red colors to the river, to see the sky reflected, and a little yellow for the reflection of the sun. I decided to cover the lasts in red, and cover the mountains in black, because I liked this picture more.

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

In this part of the picture, I had the most problems since it asked for the most work. For drawing grass on this wall I lost about three hours because I used a brush of size 1 and a large amount of green, as well as different shades of green and black. For this part of the picture, I tried the most and made the most number of moves with a brush.

7.jpg

There was a drawing of the grass. It was the second hardest thing to me since the previous one, and I was also struggling. I used a brush of size 1, 2 and 3 and also the same color as in the previous part of the image. The first layer of color was very light green, so I overlay it with black color. I wanted my picture to be much darker and more striking than the one I first drew. After applying the black color, I waited a several hours to dry it, then took different shades of green, white and gray.

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

Earlier, the tree had one crochet and now I decided for several smaller crochets. I used the same colors as for grass and the shades are shifted from left to right. I colored the left side of the tree in black and the parts closer to the sun are getting brighter.
I used a brown for the tree and branches, which also shifts from left to right, from black to light brown...

12.jpg

13.jpg

And finally, the river. I decided that the river would be brighter than anything else, because I watched this picture as a picture taken by the flash before sunrise. Since flash leaves things closer to the camera brighter and the background darker, I decided for this contrast. For the river I used the most white color and light blue I made myself.

15.jpeg

And photo of me and my work...

hvjgjknk.jpg

I hope you like my post. Enjoy! :)

Sort:  

очень неплохой художник

Really amazing work :) The color is so neat. I believe your blog deserve more appreciation but for that you should really engage with the community and comment on other people's post and that we help you to grow more followers.

Thank you very much for advice. I hope I will not dissapoint you. :)

Hi nesni996,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

The two paintings are amazing, I really do love them both. But somehow I feel like I am more drawn to the old painting than the new one. I think its more because of the water flowing, the old looks more realistic in my eyes, but I, however, love the other things you added to the new. It definitely made it pop, no way its gonna go unnoticed!😃

Oil painting seems to have a whole lot of things to consider and steps to take before one embarks on it. No wonder people try to stay away from it.

You are amazing with oil painting, do you practise mainly with it?

Thank you very much. I think you are right about water flowing on my new work and for that reason, I will make it right. Thank you very much for advice.
As I said in the post, I learned to draw by myself and I did not have anyone to learn me that. When it comes to the oil painting, I practise a lot. I started about 3 years ago and from than I draw with this tehnique. I can say that I put drawing with pen ih the second plan and if it is my favorite way of drawing, I replace that with this. I hope you will like my next posts like you did for this and I will try not to dissapoint you. :)

You learned all these by yourself? Wow! That's amazing, really! I couldn't even learn how to write by myself😢😂😃😅. Lol, don't mind me... Its It's amazing how you were able to sharpen your talent alone, i doIwant to learn too, is that possible?😊

Pen drawing always has an interesting look and feel to it as well, I do like it.

Looking forward to seeing your next painting, I am sure I won't be disappointed...

Yes, I am. If you have just a little talent for drawing, you should try a new things. You can go on youtube and write about something you want to learn and watch videos about it. I did that when I started to draw with this colors and it was helpful. :)

Oh, that really is awesome, it sure is a great way to learn. But while I do love art, I doubt I have an ounce of that talent... 😃 Maybe its hidden somewhere, waiting to be discovered? Well, I will have to try practicing to uncover that little mystery.

I wish you a good luck on that way. 😊

Thank you...😊❤

Hey nesni996,
first of all you surprised me with the information that the drying process might take up to one year. I really like your re-worked painting, details added to the artwork are very visible. Also nice work with the green parts, after 3h with thin brush it is probably way much easier to imagine painting process of, for example Claude Monet
I also checked your previous article about Graffiti and I must admit that your blog deserve more attention ! I am going to upvote and follow you since now

Thank you very much for such a beauty comment. I'm glad you saw that I gave everything from myself for this art. I hope I will not dissapoint you in my next posts. Thank you a lot. :)

I love how you use red in this work, no doubt this awakens many emotions, your sky is a metaphor for perfection. Congratulations I wish you a great week

Thank you very much for commenting, I'm glad you like my work. Thank you again. :)

Wow is a beautiful art, I love how the oil looks on the canvas, I loved the colors you used. It's a big shoe in general, and let me tell you that I liked both the first and the second, you are a true artist, I also liked the way you explained the whole process, it was hard work. Deserved curie vote, a big hug @nesni996 !!

Thank you very much. I'm so happy that you like my work. I realy tried to do it right and I hope you will like my next works. Thank you a lot. :)

howdy from Texas nesni996! wow this is such an interesting post and very educational and instructive the way that you broke down the steps in the process and why you did them that way is wonderful. Love the painting and rich colors!
Do you specialize in landscapes or do you do other types of art as well?

Beautifully done painting and the post itself is very nicely detailed. My favourite part is the red sky, it gives me the ambience for the whole picture.
                               
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thank you very much. I'm glad you like it. My favorite part is the sky too. I hope you will enjoy in my next posts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97