Tribal Candy, Traditional style art but digitally made, including timelapse.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Howdy, lovely Steemians :)
Its about time I shared some art once again :-)
20180615_185530_0001.png

Inspiration comes in many shapes and sizes, this time it's from a creative challenge we run in work. The challenge is simply to be creative within a set theme.

Its a fun little challenge, the theme was Tribal Candy, so I made some sweet powered art :D
I am playing catch up as it was the theme from last month. I had an idea in my head for a while, so used the opertunity to put my new IPad and Apple pencil to the test.

Tribal Candy Final Image
Tribalcandy.jpg

Timelapse Video
One of the awesome features of Procreate is that it creates a timelapse of your paintings/drawings. I've edited and sped up the timelapse, to showcase the process.

Some notes on the process
I wanted to stay with a traditional feel using just the HB, 6B pencils and chalk "brushes" in Procreate.
It's a strange thing to say but it does really give the best of both traditional and digital mediums.
Tribalcandy_20180615195325741.jpg

In order to ground the subjects in this image, I used shadows to help create depth and drama.
Tribalcandy_20180615200402710.jpg

Overview of stages
I may have wanted to stay with a traditional style, but I'm still taking full advantage of the digital format. From simply erasing larges parts of the image to adding an extra layer to experiment a little.
Digitally I tend to start with super rough sketches that I refine as I shade and paint. Almost sculpting forms out of the tone and texture from the mediums.
pixlr_20180615210810290.jpg

Thanks for viewing :-) oh and a massive thanks to @jeffandhisguitar for providing the music in the video above. Check out his blog for more awesome tunes!

Cheers
Nick aka @niko3d

Don't forget resteems and upvotes for posts you love are always appreciated by the authors :-)

Sort:  

Ah awesome man :)
Sorry I never saw :D
Awesome as usual!

I love the end result. The candy looks good enough to eat!

Cheers Jeff and no worries, glad you like it :D

Love the style of this one, the canvas texture really adds to the monochrome scene... lighting is rendered superbly as usual...

and the soundtrack by @jeffandhisguitar is awesome, too...

I gave this 100 thumbs up!

Thanks @fraenk much appreciated as always :-)

Cheers fraenk :)
Sorry I am a bit late :D
Appreciated :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niko3d from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Excellent as always. You are so talented. Enjoy emmensilly...keep up the great posting. You are a very talented...

Mucho thanks @johnskotts will be trying to post more often too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28