I Finally Did It: Another Artistic Breakdown

in #art5 years ago (edited)

For over two years,
I've wanted to produce art, share it here, and say nothing.
As you can see, I've already failed at staying quiet.
It's not easy to work on something for several hours, then appear to be lazy in the eyes of those who just don't get it.

NoNamesLeftToUse - I Finally Did It.jpeg
I Finally Did It

Post Complete.

Just kidding.

For those who don't know: I produce digital art.

The image above is new and never before seen by anyone other than me.

Everything I produce starts with a blank digital canvas.  It's all done freehand.  My work isn't automated.  It's never just a simple photograph or existing image/push button filter combo.

The style you see above is my own; one of many I've developed.  What I've done here today could be compared to painting on glass, then applying another layer of glass on top and painting that, then another layer, more paint, again and again.

I did something similar with this one below but decided to merge all layers, then blend the colors together by hand, no filters (with filters I lose control of which direction the colors will flow).

NoNamesLeftToUse - One of Those Days.jpeg
One Of Those Days

The next was a combination of merged blended layers and individual glass-like layers.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Supper Time.jpeg
Supper Time

Next is something somewhat similar to the one I produced today.  This was one of my earlier examples of this glass-like layering technique.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Just Because I Can.jpeg
Just Because I Can

Below you can see how I've incorporated this technique into productions that involve more than just swirly colors of eye candy.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Wondering What's Next.jpeg
Wondering What's Next

Let's have another look at Belinda.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Belinda.jpeg
Belinda

Can you spot any individual layers?

Here's one:

NoNamesLeftToUse - Belinda eye layer.jpeg

With separate layers, I'm able to alter features independently.  If I mess up or become fussy, I'm able to delete the layer and start over without affecting the surrounding area.

Using layers correctly also gives you the ability to paint under existing layers without interfering with what's on top.

Using this simple image of a lake I produced as an example:

NoNamesLeftToUse - The The Lake.jpeg

There were three main layers to that image during production.  The bottom or first layer was the water.  Other layers were added to that for shading and detail purposes but eventually merged into one layer.  The trees and reflection became the second main layer.  That sat on top of the water.  The sky layer came last but I placed that layer behind the first two so I could pull the colors down, spray, or blend without getting any on the trees or water.

I know I could have started with the sky first but going in, I didn't plan on producing a lake.  For more complex productions, I'll typically plan my layers in advance.

Anyway

If you're into digital art or would like to learn...

Now you know: Layers are your friend.  Use them.

Also, to any folks out there who think digital art isn't real or consider it to be cheating because it's not in physical form, just know, I'd never consider your comment to this post to be cheating just because you didn't use a pen.

Have a nice day.

linebreak1
Credits:
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
NoNamesLeftToUse Outro.png

"Welcome to my world."

© 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse.  All rights reserved.

Sort:  

'I Finally Did It' really does it. I liked them all, but kept going back to the top. You've done it, again!

I had a feeling you'd like that one. You always said these are like glass and I think using the term glass-like layers was a rather fitting way to describe this process. I don't really know what else to call it or a better way to describe it, so, thanks for that.

Some of them remind me of smoke under colored lights too, but when I see what looks like a hint of a shiny edge here or there, I'm reminded of blown glass.

Smoke and blown glass reminds me of a new legal hobby we have here in Canada.

Oh yeah I forgot your hobby, I also see the dead people in some of the images.

Well, yeah. They follow me everywhere I go, I think. There's a huge face in I Finally Did It. His mouth and chin is green, eyes are blue. It's not obvious, but he's there.

All of these images have ghosts in them. One Of Those Days, the whole thing in the middle is a head. I even put eyes in the lake water.

Layers... like the dance of the seven veils (consider painting Salome some time in the future 😝)


Digital art is difficult and tricky because you can't be exactly sure how each mouse move or button click is going to look like (pretty much like "handmade" art). But (and here comes one of its great advantages) you always have the 'Undo' button to "clean up the mess" (or make it worse).
Still, a blank canvas is always a blank canvas calling the artist to fill it...


PS, my favorite colors are in Supper time

I do have the luxury of CTRL+Z, but I can only backup about 20 steps. Since I like to use the spray paint tool set on barely anything comes out, I've sprayed 5 shots before the difference becomes noticeable. I have to be careful. I've rage quit on a few after a couple of hours simply because of nasty errors. The free form flowing pieces are easy to fix up but if I'm working on eyes, then notice I forgot to add a new layer and I've been messing up the white... I'm pissed. I've done that a few times.

"one of those days" I love that one. I have posted lots of my art here without talking about it and people refer to it as shit posts. Not to my face though. Ahh the good old days of fist fights outside of galleries lol

I can't afford pro layering... I have heard about it though ; )

It's annoying how the content police treat some instances of several hours worth of work here. I've come across a few who've failed to recognize the work that goes into the art. "One image and a few sentences? This would take me ten minutes," they say...

My kid could do that! I guess there are a lot of talented kids who work very fast.

I love layers. I can't believe I couldn't get my head around them at first but once you do, bin, it's smashing!

I noticed your thumbnail/cover images are kicking ass these days. That's some fine work you do.

Lol, nah, although I used to be a bit of a Photoshop whiz, nowadays I am restricted to what I can do on my phone. But cheers, I do the best with what I have!

I’d read your posts for the writing alone, but it’s often your art that catches my eye when I’m skimming through my feed. My favorites here are I Finally Did It and Just Because I Can for the way the colors punch and for the interplay between the shapes and textures. I dig how both the chaotic elements and the forms, like the darkness and the booms of color, accentuate each other. Also enjoyed hearing a little about your background and process. I work almost exclusively in digital now, and the creative freedom and flexibility it provides are unparalleled. The bias against digital media is ridiculous. If Leonardo and Van Gogh we’re alive today they’d be rocking layers and loving it! :)

The art I produce usually does stand out in those feeds. That's all intentional. Cheaper and more productive than buying votes to get attention.

The hate for digital art is getting old. I think some folks still hate the electric guitar though so I don't see it going away any time soon.

Very cool! You're right - this style is super unique and we definitely haven't seen anything quite like it before! Looking forward to seeing what other styles you will come up with!

That first image is my personal favorite - looks to me like someone accidentally spilled several cans of paint all over the floor!

I'm always experimenting, discovering new things. These digital art suites have a lot of different tools. Some I've yet to try.

You're right about that image. I could have named it The Studio Floor.

ta. wasn't sure how you did it before. thought maybe your house was full of white sheets and techno coloured stained walls

Well, it does say all images were produced digitally, by me, at the bottom of every post. Many seem to overlook that part.

Love the second and third ones, the colours are so pretty XD

I read the headline two ways simultaneously and am glad it wasn't th mental breakdown kind of breakdown!

It's always fun throwing dramatic words into the headline. If there was a mental breakdown though, this probably would be the place to find it... LOL

Players would make sense nad's to beautiful artistry. Winter's coming in layers to make additional sense as well. You use very happy colors I put a smile on my face.

Awesome art dude!

You are such a fundamentalist, but your pictures do look different.

For once I'll knock out a comment with no pictures and stay focused on yours...

Great stuff.

Thanks a lot. I taught myself and don't have any influences. That's why it's different, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22