Why Should I Write About This: Dammit I Thought I Told Myself to Write Better Titles

in #art6 years ago

The opening line thing again?  Really?
At least my template changes with every post.
Got that going for me, at least.
And now for some random "art".

NoNamesLeftToUse - No You Cannot Have That.jpeg
No You Cannot Have That
NoNamesLeftToUse - No You Cannot Have That.jpeg
Smaller version for those on a diet.

I Finally Found the Cord

For my Cordless Headphones

That doesn't have anything to do with anything though.  I'm just glad I can once again manipulate my environment enough and to the point where the only sounds I hear are the sounds I put inside my head, intentionally.  Music is a sound I rather enjoy most days unless the song is terrible, so that's what I put inside my melon, and now you know.

We are the universe discovering itself.

That's the meaning of life.

I just thought I'd throw that in because so many people ask and not enough people answer.  It's high time someone changed that for the better.  You're welcome.

Moving On

Here's the part where I can't think of anything to write about again.

Yup.

So now what?

I made some art again.  Did you see that up there or did you quickly scroll through a blur of colors only to find yourself at this point of the post now, noticing there's nothing here and wondering what you're doing with your life?

I might have to produce another image, or something.  This post is in need of some kind of filler.  Maybe I'll stand on my head while on fire as someone kicks me in the nuts, then take a selfie the moment my face shows what pain looks like.

This entertainment blog stuff is hard.

Too many options and some days I'm terrible at making decisions on the spot like this.  Sure, I could put some more thought into this, take my time, do something awesome, then write awesome things like a normal writer.  Why though?  Why would I go ahead and delete all of this mess now, after working so hard, just to do something else that would probably work better in a different post?

I'll be alright, and so will you.

It's now nearly two in the morning, or night?  Whatever, it's two when it's not bright outside, if you know what I mean, and I got this song on rinse and repeat.

(That beat is addicting. I like.)

And I'm not even going insane yet.

It's been like this for hours.  I wrote that stuff up there four hours ago.  I decided to try my hand at producing some more art while I slowly try to go insane without the help of substances one can find growing on the ground near cow poop.

This is fun and now you'll even get a chance to see how my mental mind operates while I work on this shit (shit in a good way, not shit in a bad way like it burns. Slang. You know how it is).

Check This Out!

Purified awesome.

Screenshot (411).png

Wow!

Right?

Everything has a beginning and an end, they say.  It's true and that's the start of something that will end, at some point, but first there are plenty of steps known as the middle to complete before we get anywhere.  That's the part some overlook when judging their "high quality" content and coming up with something rational to say to me like:

Wtf @NoNamesLeftToUse?  One picture and a few sentences?  How long did this take?  Five minutes?!?!  $100?  Must be nice, asshole!  I worked for TEN YEARS on my last post and I only got paid a quarter!  How many alt accounts are you using to vote for yourself you stupid piece of shit who I hate so much and I wish I was you!  Totally not jealous by the way!


Okay, in all fairness, for the most part, this community is solid, quite welcoming, and insanely supportive.  That comment above is an exaggeration of the incredibly rare times people have placed their ignorance under my posts combined with some of the words I've seen around here and there.  I realize it's easy to overlook the effort that goes into what I or others do here when all one can see is the end result and that reaction comes with the territory so it's all good, that's life.


So, Anyway

Back to what I was trying to explain.

Screenshot (412).png

See how it's all coming together?

Of course not.

Ignore the green circle.  That's actually my "brush" and what I'm doing is lightly applying the color black with a virtual spray paint style tool I really enjoy using.

Next, I'll do more of the same, then add some white that you won't be able to see, then cover the black and white with a thicker coat of black.  Trust me, I know what I'm doing.

Screenshot (415).png

Now I'll outline the darkest black splotches with white.  Don't ask me why.  I don't really know why.  I just did it, because.

Screenshot (417).png

Then for some strange reason I guess I started to darken these areas:

Screenshot (419).png

Once that was finished, I then applied more white to the lighter areas.  Bored yet?

Screenshot (421).png

Eventually, after darkening the dark spots and lightening the light spots more and more, I ended up with this base to work with:

Screenshot (426).png

Much of what you've seen so far was quite random and simple.  Still took awhile to finish but in my reality, I haven't even started.  The entire time, I was planning to work with different shades of gray, but I don't know what I'll be producing until it starts to show itself to me, so for now all I can really do is start blending the base the get the shades I wanted in the first place.

The paint is what I'd call "wet", so now I'm going to mix the white and black with another tool I use for blending and sculpting.

Screenshot (428).png
Screenshot (429).png
Screenshot (431).png

Don't Worry

I won't make a habit out of doing posts like this.

I've been here doing my thing for two years minus three days and the time off I take when I need it.  After all this time, I've stuck with simply showing the end result and talking about other things that usually don't make much sense but I say them anyway.  I realize I could have recorded the process but then you have to watch all the boring parts I left out.  That's no fun.  Besides, I'm @NoNamesLeftToUse The Writer/Artist Himself, so I'll be doing things my way.

Next Up!

More shit happens.

At this point, I'm staring at my new base, trying to figure out what the hell I'm going to do with this mess of gray.

I want to sculpt and pull these shades around until they eventually look like something cool and never before seen.  I must wait though.  Wait, and stare more.

Eventually my eyes start bugging out and I start hallucinating.  Pareidolia kicks in, I start seeing things, and that's when I'll begin to paint what my subconscious sees, rather than what my usual day-to-day thought process would allow.  That's probably why my stuff ends up looking so strange.  I just go with the flow.  An image wants to exist so it uses me as some kind of vessel to achieve appearance.

That sounds fucked right up, I know.  Whatever though.  If you want to argue with these digital picture beings who haunt me wherever I go; do it, have fun, good luck, try not to die.

Slowly

They revealed themselves.

Observe:

Once that dude showed up on the right side like that, I thought it would be a good time to stop.  I had no idea these characters were hiding under there, like that.  That's my life though so I just deal with it.

NoNamesLeftToUse - These Things Happen.jpeg
These Things Happen

linebreak1
Credits:
Youtube video linked to source.
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
NoNamesLeftToUse Outro.png
"Behind the madness is more madness. Have a nice day!"

© 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse.  All rights reserved.

Sort:  

"Maybe I'll stand on my head while on fire as someone kicks me in the nuts, then take a selfie the moment my face shows what pain looks like"

If you do that, then definitely it will look like abstract art :D

Been a while since I've read some of your posts, but I'm glad they're still the same as ever, too "profound" for me, lol.

Those pictures look like the hardcore level of when I'm bored and looking at paint. The opening one however looks a lot more understandable or even "normal" compared to the others below :D

The top one is profoundly normal I guess. That's cool.

This is really cool man, just really cool. I've been wanting for a long time to see a timelapse of some of your work and here it is. It really does just emerge. Like it was already there before and you were just putting it back how you remembered it or something.... or maybe you're like some kind of god, materialising worlds from a primordial soup of digital paints. I dunno. Whatever it is, it looks good.

Happy chain freeze day!

I think a lot of folks have been wanting to see how some of these take shape. So I finally do it... and it breaks Steemit.

Now, now. It didn't break Steemit; it broke Steem. There's a difference between knocking a website offline, and bringing an entire decentralised platform to its knees. Bask in the glory of your awesome power! :P

It's a good thing I stopped when I did and didn't add the colors because that would have destroyed the internet.

Hahahaha, I didn't figure it out until I read this comment, but lol, it sure was just on time, hahahaha. When the witnesses looked at your post they were like: "What I'm doing with my life..." let's start forking, lol.

In the one above "Don't Worry" I saw a Celt with mustache on the far right-hand side, and the rest looked like Les Demoiselles d'Avignon having a drunken fight. One of them, with long hair, on the top, right-hand side, is flying out of the hurlyburly, legs bent backwards.

But you don't fork into several pictures, do you?

I could have saved that base you're talking about as a layer, duplicated it, messed around like I did, produce an image, save it, then go back to the base, rinse and repeat to see what else wants to show up, make an entirely different image... but I don't normally do that. The images end up looking similar so unless I'm doing a set, I'll always make a new random base to work with.

No forks, but new chains, I get it.

Hey! It's nice to have you back.

Good to see you again @kansuze!

Unless they're a pain for you to do, please do more process posts like this, it was really cool watching the figures form out of a few lines :)

It's painful but this won't be the last one. That's many hours chopped up into a handful of stills, it made me stay up all night, and hopefully the next time I do it, more folks are around to see. I hit the damn post button and the place died shortly after. Depressing to say the least.

In those earlier pictures I saw a man's face off to the right, surrounded by intestines. It was like a baby in utero, only a man, so it was like his previous life's soul still. He was looking very frustrated and I was wondering when he would transform into a baby soul, poor guy.

Speaking of childbirth, I like that Barbie up there. The sparce hair, the post-childbirth thighs. Mommy Barbie. I want her too but that mean guy up there probably won't give me her.

Talking about all this uterus/childbirth stuff with you is getting a little weird. I think I'll stop.

Visiting this place and leaving feeling weirded out is abnormally normal, or something, so it's all good.

Seems like a good advertisement for around here:

Are you bored? Shit post award got you down? Or worse yet, feeling a little too...normal? Head on over to nonameslefttouse - you're bound to leave weirded out, guaranteed.
nonameslefttouse - creating the abnormally normal since 2016.

I think "bound to leave" could be a phrase some of your more morbid characters would appreciate.

Bound to leave. That's dark. They told me to tell you they like it.

I'm a lazy reader, I really really tried to read to end of this before commenting, but laziness apparently will not let me be great. 😪.

Anyway, I enjoyed every bit of what I read till I got tired, felt like watching a deadpool movie, or perhaps reading the comic, you get what I mean. Why do I even feel like you are the one behind the character? Lol, maybe, maybe not.

Anyways, since you've found your cord for your cordless headphones, how about I give you somethings to listen to? Perhaps you will find them interesting🤷🏾‍♂

you get what I mean

Yup... I totally get it. I mean, I was far too lazy to read your comment. Hope you don't mind. I'm sure it wasn't important and you know how it is...

😂😂😂😂

Have a lovely day bro😊

Ah ha! Nonames writes a process post> steem breaks!

Seriously though, this was really freaking awesome. And though I'm generally a fan of a lot of color, These Things Happen has made it to my top five.

I'm just writing to tell you I totally missed this comment somehow. When I made this one, I had no idea it would make the grade.

And I'm totally late to your anniversary post, and pissed off about it! I even had that date in my head, but my house is in disafuckingray lol, fuck, sorry man. Yes, I loved this art, but I really love your style in general.

I'll be alright, and so will you.

He said.

And yet it wasnt, was it?

Eh, eh!

No, it wasn't.

Sorry, I somehow missed this comment of yours. I'm slippin, I know.

Tbh, I always look at your art first, your words are kinda secondary to me. I actually like it when you write less when you intend for an art piece to be the focus.

I'll be doing a lot less writing, I think. It feels like not as many people are even looking these days so it's been a bit demoralizing.

Maybe the word ‘demoralising’ needs to be chainsawed out of your thinking? How much do you genuinely engage in others? Sure you provide upvote support when you happen to notice, but how much do you really read and engage in the post of others beyond your own threads, nonames?

There’s a reason I keep my follow list short, and even though it makes me unpopular, I’ll continue to cull it as people lose relevance or have no time for me. I rationalise to myself that there’s only so much time I have in my life to take an interest in those known to me. I don’t need the validation of a big number. My list is a reminder to take a break from my curiosity in new encounters, which is the reason I’m online, and to revisit people like yourselves who I enjoy and wish to support within the limits I’ve set myself. But I do find daily posters, especially multiple times a day posters and incessant resteemers (bloody @jackmiller) problematic. We’ve only got so time in our life. We cannot dedicate all our time in being an audience to the more industrious.

You are blessed compared to many, maybe not by your lofty standards, but you are. It would be nice to know you’re starting Season 3 with a fighting attitude and not down from the lack of readership. Because when you complain, you sound like so many I’ve listen to who complain. Those who make the observation that people are not reading their stuff, while they themselves don’t read. I don’t care what people say, we all do this to some extent, so it would probably be a good idea to STFU. I find myself suddenly annoyed, so I’ll STFU now too.

Thanks for the lecture. You're accusing me of things I'm not guilty of. For two years, I've been voting manually. I've explained my curation habits on numerous occasions within my posts. I'm not hitting that button and running. What if what's inside is something I don't agree with or enjoy? Not only do I read posts that I vote for, but I read posts that I don't vote for. I've put a lot of time and energy into curating content.

I'm allowed to feel a bit let down when the place dies down and great when it's lively. That's life. Many here experience the same thing and feel the same way.

I should probably also mention, when I'm feeling down and seeing things slip, I'm blaming me, feeling like I'm doing something wrong, not everyone else. I didn't complain and point fingers at anyone or even hint that someone else is doing something wrong. "A bit."

Many times now, you've told me you don't focus on my words but I think if you did take the time to read them, you'd see how often I thank people for their efforts and I actually mean it when I say it. I am not a disingenuous guy.

I’ve tried to reply to this a few times and I struggle to soften my words. You’re a good guy, nonames. You have a heart, and you treat those who visit you with courtesy. In all the time I’ve known you, you’ve come acrossed demoralized. I’m sure we’ve discussed incessant whining in posts and how annoying it becomes.

I do read your words of thanks, I just skim over the parts where you’re in character about your awesomeness or weirdness or what not. It’s the same gig quite often. So I glance at the art and I skim. I drop in and leave comments because I want to be supportive of what makes you unique. I’m just not a fan of the ‘It’s so quiet here’ commentary. It doesn’t seem quiet in your corner to me.

People are voting mostly to be supportive. When I see posts with hundreds of upvotes on vids that have less than 10 views, I think it’s more than obvious that many aren’t paying attention. That’s just how it is on the steemiverse, but we can only commit to reading so many posts. I generally try to comment with my upvotes. That’s my way to express my appreciation.

Someone recently pointed out that we should be posting with the understanding that our readers or potential readers are not on block chain. That we are posting to the wider web. I felt it was an important reminder.

I’m just sharing you my observation, delivered with limited patience of the platform in general. I take the stance that we’re all guilty of the very things we complain about. You don’t have to agree. Anyway, I’m not getting anymore endearing, so it’s best not to further engage. I’m only responding because you’re a decent guy and deserve a proper reply.

Someone recently pointed out that we should be posting with the understanding that our readers or potential readers are not on block chain. That we are posting to the wider web. I felt it was an important reminder.

I'm already ten steps ahead of you, @linnyplant. We used to have a view counter here and the reason why many of my older posts would receive hundreds if not thousands of views over time was because of my efforts behind the scenes pushing my links elsewhere. It's something I don't need to be reminded of and I take those extra steps to not only promote my own work, but the platform in general and the familiar faces seen leaving their two cents under my posts.

I didn't decide to get into this business and conclude from the beginning it would be all highs and no lows. I came fully prepared knowing the struggles I'd be facing. Just because I'm noticing things have slowed down, this doesn't mean I've turned a blind eye to the things that are going well.

If you look back into my history here, you'll see many posts with hundreds of comments. Over time, I got to know some of these people. One grows attached; you miss them when they're gone, you wonder how they're doing, you hope they're okay. Even while I was on break people wrote me and left kind, reassuring words. Some felt a bit down that I was gone. I still insist it is completely normal to feel a bit down when it gets quiet around here.

This doesn't mean I'm moaning, complaining and acting entitled. I was here, working my way up from the bottom, blogging for seven cent STEEM, never knowing if the value would ever rise, during times that were one hell of a lot quieter than now. When all you can hear is the sound of your own voice, then work up to the point where I'd spend sometimes five or more hours continuously responding to the reaction pouring in on a daily basis, you'll notice when it gets quieter. Things start messing with the mind. What did I do, what did I say, what am I doing wrong. Then I'm reading comments from you and another recently stating they're not really paying attention to the writing, so of course after these incidents I'm going to start feeling as if I should make changes, write less, and hopefully that's what people want. The thing is, I don't work for this minority who chooses to tell me how they ignore my efforts, I work for me, and I personally enjoy writing, even after hearing things like this:

It’s the same gig quite often. So I glance at the art and I skim.

Of course these kind of words will bring someone down, yet before this conversation took place, I was still working my butt off. After I said to you might slow down on the writing, I still worked my butt off, and I have plans for more posts coming right up here in the near future.

I’m only responding because you’re a decent guy and deserve a proper reply.

I'm only responding to set the record straight here on my blog. A lot of what you're saying contradicts who I am, what I stand for, where I've been, what I've done.

I'm finished with this conversation though and look forward to crossing paths with you in the future.

Have a nice day.

Minority me is glad to be finished with this convo too. I wouldn’t want to further offend you with my ignoring of your efforts, because that’s clearly what I’ve been doing in all the time I’ve spent on your blog. So I’m sure you can understand, my time is better elsewhere in future rather than crossing paths. You’re 10 steps ahead anyway. 🙄

You have a nice day too.

Minority me is glad to be finished with this convo too. I wouldn’t want to further offend you with my ignoring of your efforts, because that’s clearly what I’ve been doing in all the time I’ve spent on your blog.

There's no need to take things out of context and if you're doing it intentionally to get a rise out of me, that won't be happening. I'm chill.

Toodles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13