Manifestations Exhibit: The Opening Night!

in #art5 years ago (edited)

71496377_10157712680658336_2619729703220543488_n.jpg

First Thursday Was a Hit!

Yesterday was the first Thursday of the month, which here in San Pedro, CA means Art Walk day. Each month, the streets downtown become packed with folks from around LA who show up to check out all of the local art galleries. We finally got our Halloween themed exhibit set up and boy did we get some traffic!

20191003_200805.jpg

We had several artists exhibiting in our show. In a previous post, I showed some of James Muscarello's work but I had not yet gotten to see the hilarious and awesome piece shown above. I just love his stuff. So creative! It fit right in with the rest of the wild and crazy artwork that we have on display.

20191003_200602.jpg

The above doll, Skinless Chuck, was a character that was originally designed for Bleeding Edge toy company to be in their now defunct Kinder Goth line. The line ended up being cancelled and it never made it into the series.

20191003_200555.jpg

"The Sweater Monster" is one of my favorites. Sadly, the Steem images come up kind of small, but hopefully you can make out the monstrous character on the sweater with the random tacos dangling around it. I think this is a reference to something but I can't remember. Or maybe it's just random and funny. Either way, I dig it. I'd wear it!

It's Mother!

James' wife is also an accomplished artist. This is her version of Norman Bates' mother from the movie Psycho.

20191003_200307.jpg

I must say, this thing was pretty creepy to look at with only the black lights on.

20191003_201409.jpg

Unfortunately, the effect doesn't really come through in photographs, but you can still appreciate the creepiness!

20191003_200827.jpg

Here's another view of what @gooddream aptly called a "possessed Homer Simpson". By the way, I told the artist that an online friend said that and got a great laugh out of it.

20191003_201238.jpg

20191003_200715.jpg

This wild piece was done by the friend of another artist in our building. I need to get her name and I'll replace it here in the text. I can't seem to find it at the moment. It's a pretty interesting piece!

20191003_200736.jpg

The following busts and the Nemo porthole works are all done by James Muscarello as well.

20191003_200325.jpg

20191003_200403.jpg

I honestly don't know where he finds the time or energy to make these after working 8-11 hour shifts everyday sculpting for the toy industry. I guess you have to really love what you do!

You may remember the Poe work from a previous show that he was in with Amanda.

20191003_200629.jpg

20191003_200344.jpg

20191003_200646.jpg

I love that guy! Rod Serling is a man you won't soon forget if you've watched any of the classic Twilight Zone episodes - a show which he created. I think James did a great job on this one.

Sadly, Rod died at the young age of 50 after multiple heart attacks. Apparently he was a major chain smoker!

20191003_201105.jpg

20191003_201326.jpg

20191003_201311.jpg

Most People Say I Am Amazing As Artwork

Whatever you think about the Donald, those are pretty hilarious. When these were brought into the exhibit, I was a little worried that people would get offended, but everyone was pretty chill. That's the fun thing about fine art, all types of expression are welcome, even controversial ones.

20191003_200927.jpg

20191003_201218.jpg

Before the show, I went to the store and grabbed a bunch of snacks and some wine for the visitors. This was all fine until these group of kids decided that they were going to wipe out the food, leave for a few minutes then come back and eat more after I refilled the plates.

Finally they came in for a 4th time and Amanda yelled at one of them, "I hope you got enough to eat!".. Then he ran out yelling 'sorry, thanks!'

20191003_201028.jpg

I was actually kind of glad that they devoured most of it because I didn't want to carry any of it home. Especially since I am trying to watch the ol' gut.

20191003_200447.jpg

These faces are pretty funny. Amanda had asked me a few weeks ago to make the most horrible faces that I could make so that she could get some reference material.

So these drawings are not me per se, but they are certainly based on my face. I hope that doesn't scare anyone.

20191003_200729.jpg

And of course you'll recognize all of these squares from Amanda and my Manifestations experiment. I case you didn't read the last post, these were made by Amanda and I sketching with charcoal on canvas, then trading the canvases and painting each other's drawings. The results were pretty hilarious. Especially since I don't know how to paint.

20191003_200836.jpg

There's another view of James' awesome Self Portrait with Fever. I just love this thing!

20191003_200942.jpg

The ravens were already up on the wall, but since they were appropriate for the show we just left them there. Amanda keeps getting offers from buyers but keeps turning them down for some reason. I think she has gotten a bit attached to her art!

20191003_200432.jpg

20191003_200422.jpg

This piece was really neat. It is made from a mannequin wrapped in paper clothing and hair. The artist did a really great job! It also looks pretty amazing in the black light. I will also update this with the artist's name as soon as I have a chance to go back and look.

20191003_200457.jpg

20191003_201052.jpg

There's another piece from the Poe show. One of crazy things about these pieces is that they all look interactive but they actually aren't. We were having a lot of trouble keeping people from touching the artwork. I don't know why people think it's okay to grab these things. Would they do this in the Louvre?

20191003_200516.jpg

20191003_200536.jpg

20191003_201013.jpg

20191003_201120.jpg

Amanda made up a bunch of Halloween cards from our Manifestations canvases which were a big hit at the show. I must say, I felt weird having art on display that I had a hand in, since I don't consider myself an artist. But if I am being honest there is a lot of crap out there being passed off as fine art that can be considered questionable! But that is a story for another day.

The above video is just a smartphone clip of me walking around the gallery checking out the exhibit. Please have a look to see everything in context. As always, thanks a ton for your support and for stopping by! Much love!

Sort:  

Awesome! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

All photography beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

What a great collection! Can't tell which one I like the most. Thanks for sharing :)

I am glad you liked them!

Fantastic show! This just proves that there are many very talented artists out there - in spite of what the "art market" wants to make you believe: that there are only a few great artists and their art is exclusive .
All these shows like yours, and I attended and participated in many, are evidence that people love and enjoy the kind of art that is being created among them, not at some lofty height of "superior genius" and concepts only the cognoscenti can understand.
Just watch the crowds in your show, and then compare them to the crowds at venues such as Art Basel.

All very true! I have been to a lot of fine art galleries around the world, and I have found that you really don't even need to travel far to find amazing and skilled artists.

Especially in the toy and entertainment industry! There are some seriously underrated people out there who will never get the fame as some questionably skilled person's work you might see in a famous gallery.

This looks like such a fun show !

It has been, people have been getting a real kick out of the art. That's my favorite part!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 3.7% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84