Mirror, mirror on the wall (and several versions of it)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

A magic mirror is one of the strongest archetypes in fairytales and fantasy stories; also it is commonly used in occult practices, old and modern alike. My personal experience does not go that far: I had a dream once (a nightmare, really) involving a mirror, so intense that I remember it still after ~20 years, and shiver whenever I think about it.

So, I try to exorcise my demons with ... a fractal!

The rectangular shape with the decorations all around it, reminded me of a fantasy mirror, and the swirls beneath it (it's the "ripple" effect I discussed previously) give it a sense of magical torrents being activated. After the detail picture below, you can find some other versions of the same fractal, rendered in quick mode (if you like a particular one, I can render it again with more detail and perhaps elaborate in the direction you suggest).


2.jpg

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

A fractal made in JWildFire

released under CC BY-SA 4.0
Attribute to: @nyarlathotep
Link to: https://busy.org/@nyarlathotep/

Details:


3.jpg
4.jpg

Other versions


6.jpg
6a.jpg
5.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 100% upvote from @dzentral courtesy of @sanchezpuukko! Earn a solid 0% earning payout by delegating SP to @dzentral.

Visit https://bit.ly/2EbxBUr for details or take a nap like there´s no tomorrow.

You can make your post more visible with using our resteem service.
Send 100 SBD/STEEM Get Instant Resteem by @dzentral to 8+ Followers and Get Instant 2+ Upvotes.
Automatically NO Refund for Invalid Transactions.
Don't join us on discord, better send 100 STEEM/SBD to @null while making the dzentral war cry: For mother anarchy!

Mirrors freak me out. :)

I wrote this thread a couple of years ago on a forum I used to frequent - Clickee if interested - and I still feel the fear. I just know that one night I'll wake up, unintentionally roll over to my side that faces my wardrobe-mirror, and I'll see something within it, and my mind will break forever.

That is similar to my own terror in that dream I mentioned above. Since then, every time I stand in front of the bathroom mirror I grit my teeth waiting for something to happen again.

I don't know why, but I don't like so much of mirrors. I think that is because the majority of horror movies that I had been watched, hahaha.
Cheers, and thanks for sharing!

It's not that I fear mirrors or anything like that, but many times I get goosebumps when I remember that horrific dream I had.

I never dreamed about mirrors, but when I walk in a place with mirrors in the middle of night, that scares me a lot.

The magic mirror can reveal thousands of unseen truth.

This is a fabulous piece of art with good documentry to back it up

Thanks, maybe we will see what is on the other side of the mirror in future posts...

Alright. I will be waiting for that.

Dear Artist @nyarlathotep ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow community account. See you soon !

Congratulations @nyarlathotep! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This also reminds me of the black square of Malevich. It was the modern version of a holy Icon. When he was buried it was in a coffin with a red circle at the feet and a black square over the head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80