ART DUMP!! RISE OF THE SITH, Poster, Process pics, VIDEO TRAILER!

in #art5 years ago

Hello all my steemit family!!!! In my last post I talked about a huge breakup I had and its been quite a road to recovery. I will start posting again regularly! I COME TO YOU ALL WITH SOMETHING SO VERY IMPORTANT!!

KICKSTARTER PLEASE CLICK - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mikethemarine/wrath-of-the-empire-pre-production-and-comic-book?ref=6x1gwi&fbclid=IwAR3CYyKoAVd5bMaVkjSQRMWFONiul67iUxB14bXQImovqBhq-v9iho1Xyzo

I have been working with these guys for the past couple of months and there is still SOOO much more work to be done! I completed the movie poster for their upcoming fan film, I included all my steps PLUS some concept art as well! SO its allot to look at so I really hope you all enjoy! I will do my best to describe all my thoughts and leave lots of notes for you all to read as well... So here we go!!

15a.jpg

I will begin with the first concept art that I did for these guys and also share with you the sketch that made their eyes lean in my direction.

My angel demon sketch. I did this last year as a sketch that I randomly thought about on a jog one day, I went home and drew it right away! Its now tucked away in my line up of characters that I have for my future graphic novel.. but anyways here is that sketch!
levi-hinton-5.jpg

It was a really popular sketch among my followers so I guess it was no wonder that it received the attention that it got!

So I was asked to do both some character/makeup designs. So ill share those below.

This was the first design I did, I loved it and so did I! With all these designs I just let my imagination flow and tried to keep a consistent style throughout.
1.jpg

here is the second. This design was a very important one because they went ahead and did the makeup nearly right away for filming. Ill share that next.
2.jpg

Here is my design brought to life!! I thought this was soo cool to see my design come to life...

2.jpg

and then another!! This one I believe is my personal favorite.

3b.jpg

and another!!

4b.jpg

With that I was done with the commission... but they wanted more! This was a few months back. So they also wanted me to do some environmental studies as well!

First one is the emperors throne room. Again these were just very simple sketches but they were so fun to do!!

1-finished.jpg

Second one is the entrance to the throne room! This one is definitely my favorite of all my environment sketches.

2-finished.jpg

Here is the third one!! This one being that of a secret counsel area....

3-finished-b.jpg

And lastly a place where sacrifices would be made hidden away on a planet.

4-finished.jpg

With all that work done, they decided to talk to me about future work on this kickstarter of theirs!! We discussed things and with all the design work that needs to be done... its around 20k. worth of work! BUT this is only if we make our stretch goal... so any help is awesome... ANYWAYS back to some more art!!

Kickstarter - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mikethemarine/wrath-of-the-empire-pre-production-and-comic-book?ref=6x1gwi&fbclid=IwAR3CYyKoAVd5bMaVkjSQRMWFONiul67iUxB14bXQImovqBhq-v9iho1Xyzo

They needed another sith created!! So this one was a little more than just a sketch, just a smidge.. not a full scale illustration like the poster. But here is my first rendering of him!

3.jpg

They liked him.... but he was way off the mark, they wanted him to look much more stoic and be a military type. SO i went back to the drawing board!!

b.jpg

My first resketch of him... but still not quite there... so one more time..

c2.jpg

BAM!! I had him!! I was ready for color :). So here is how he turned out! Both with makeup and without

c5b.jpg

c5.jpg

With all that said and done it was time for the BIG piece! The poster... ill show it again and then go through some steps!

15a.jpg

This took so long to complete...

STEP ONE! with any big project you simply take the first step, and so this is exactly what I did!

2a.jpg

3a.jpg

Step two!! I needed to start figuring out a composition for this poster... and I know I needed the emperor in there. SO i did a quick sketch of him... he started off very very messy haha.

4a.jpg

Step 3! I had to take a break... for a day, and then I came back to it and I really hit him hard and he looks soooo much better hahah. I also really loved the idea of a red sun being directly behind him.. so I tried it out. Still so messy.

5a.jpg

Step 4!! I needed to start fixing the background and give it some depth... it took me a while to figure out the idea to use the entrance to the throne room! Since it was my favorite of the environmental sketches. Plus the red moon felt too... Samurai, I felt this looked much better! Its starting to get dark... :)

6a.jpg

Step 5!! Next I needed to start adding the next two characters!!

7a.jpg

Step 6. BAM! I had them.. but they let me know that he was supposed to be red... so I had to do that next.

8a.jpg

Step 7. Really coming together now!!

9a2.jpg

Step 8. There were so many little steps after this so ill just cut to it. He wanted it shrunk, and have a nice black border around it and fade the image... and I thought this was a great idea! So I kept painting and painting and painting.... and I had it!! BUT there was one last thing he wanted to add after this...

14a.jpg

STEP 9. After sending this to them and they gave it some thought.... they had the FANTASTIC idea of adding stars to it!! SO I DID IT!! And here is the finished product once more.

15a.jpg

I just really really hope that they can make this kickstarter... here it is one last time. They are a great bunch of guys! Here is the kickstarter and also a link to their website as well. ^_^

KICKSTARTER - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mikethemarine/wrath-of-the-empire-pre-production-and-comic-book?ref=6x1gwi&fbclid=IwAR3CYyKoAVd5bMaVkjSQRMWFONiul67iUxB14bXQImovqBhq-v9iho1Xyzo

WEBSITE - https://mikethemarine.com/the-dark-resurgence

AND HERE IS THEIR TEASER TRAILER!!! Skip to 1:20 to go strait to the trailer.

BUT YESSS ITS SO GOOD TO BE BACK EVERYONE!! Im so sorry my my spotty posts.. at best spotty haha. I promise to continue sharing with you all! ^_^

Ill see you all really soon! - Nycto

I hope you all enjoyed this post :)

Sort:  

@sfcq240788 has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a fabulous collection of drawings. Your style is really wonderful as well as dark. Beautiful job on this post!

@trincowski thank you sooo much for saying so :) Im glad you enjoyed my post!

Hey ! OMG ! It's been SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO long :O Where have you been :O :O :O

This is really a great post and it is SUPER AWESOME that you are back, too !!! Please try to be more active~ AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA~

@veryspider Hiiii!!! hahhahah yes its been FOREVER!! You can read about it in my last post but horrible 6 year break up uhhgg..... but yea IM BACK. ill be sure to keep on posting =D Great to hear from you again! WOW you have grown so much! I need to catch up now haha. :)

Ah yes, but that was 2 months ago ! I suppose break ups are very difficult to overcome, specially after six years together :( :( :( I hope you are now in a better head space though because the future is not yet written and you'll be able to meet new people and forge new relationships :D

Meeee? No, how can you say that XD You were always so far ahead of meeeee aaaaaaaa

So good that you're back though :D Makes me happy !

Thank you soooo much @veryspider =D its so great to be back!! And yea Im in a muchhhh better headspace now! It just takes time to heal I suppose, same goes with any sort of physical or mental trauma. And yes exactly!! i am very much looking forward to the future and what it holds :) onward and up! And hahahha, well you are doing greeat! Thanks for saying though =D

That's so awesome to hear :)

And by the way, I never realized that my OTHER comment didn't go through :( I had written a lot about what I liked about this piece. I was saying like, I remember the horned angel picture from BACK when and that yeah, it is very cool and I (too) am not surprised that it got to such popularity because the design of it is very awesome and unique :D

I also said that I love the thoughtfulness and creativity that goes into each of these sith characters. I think there are such personality that you managed to convey in each of them, by use of tattoo and proportional design choices. Love that you used a fair bit of squarishness in the final design for the 'militaristic' character ! Very solid <3

Also, also, I love the environmental pieces that you featured here. The throne room, the inner chamber of their sith temple, and the sacrificial place... they look REALLY atmospheric and VERY much sith-like :D

With some of these illustrations that are attached to a franchise, it can be difficult to nail the right tone, but you did very well :) These characters and these paintings really do feel like they belong in the star wars universe :D Well done !

Congratulations @nyctoinc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Wow this looks like a really cool project! Cool to see a fan produced star wars film with this high of production values. Your art is awesome - the poster turned out great! And I really liked seeing all the concept art as well. Welcome back to Steem and don't be a stranger :)

Cheers - Carl "Totally not a bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

@humanbot wow thank you soo much!!!! I am back now and ill try my best to not be a stranger =D Thank you so much for the badge! XD

Im putting a Bounty so more people will see this project! @knircky hope you like dude

OMG @sfcq240788 thank you so much for the bounty!! Im so glad you enjoyed my post =D

It's a placer!!! Nice work!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

get well soon

thank you so much @sumandakz

Hi @nyctoinc! I'm a HUGE STAR WARS FAN so when I saw this post I had to take a closer look and you really suprised me, this is AWSOME!!! I never was one for fanart videos but this lookes great, you are doing amazing work wow! I am following your blog now, cant wait to see more :).
Hope this isn't too forward of me but I myself have been hurt bad so I'm speaking from experience.
Reading trough the comments I felt heartbroken, I'm glad you are doing better now and please belive me, it will get even better with time, especially because you have people like veryspider supporting you :).
I am an amateur artist, so if you finde a little time please visit my blog @nagasonic. Thank you in advance :).

@nagasonic thats not too forward at all! I really appreciate the kind words and I super appreciate the love for my craft!! I have a long ways to go in this art life of mine both with relationships and my talent, so thank you so much for stopping by and ill be sure to do the same! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72