Fantasy Portrait! ORIGINAL ART, FULL PROCESS, Turning client into a beautiful beast!!!!

in #art5 years ago

Hello again my fellow steemians!!! I AM BACK just as I promised, its only been a few days but Im back to share with you another art post! I just finished this for a client and she was soooooo happy!! Apparently she and her boyfriend have been a long time fan of my art, so of course I went ahead and made her an amazing portrait for her collection. I also had it printed and shipped!! *ill make a separate post about her receiving her canvas * Ok here it is!! and ill go through my steps per usual ^_^

Here is the finished project!!

9.jpg

References.

She came to me and wanted something done... but also wanted me to have free range with whatever I was going to create for her! So she left me with these two pictures are ref.

52480939_775300162837310_4198808699138998272_n.jpg

f.jpg
she loved her face in the first one, but lovveeddd her hair in the second!! So I kinda wanted to take inspiration from both!!

BEGIN!!!

Step 1- Sketch phase.

This is always one of the funnest phases in any art piece, its fresh its new... you can flow and work through your thoughts and creativity. Always a pleasure to just sketch freely.

1.jpg

Step 2- LINEEESSS

Once I have my completed sketch I pick my lines that are my favorite per-say.... I need a clean foundation in order to begin painting!!! well... clean enough haha, sometimes I make SUPER clean lines, sometimes I leave room for me to have some freedom with my painting process. Im random sometimes... xD

2.jpg

Step 3- Greyscale!

NOW this is a step I dont usually take... usually im BAM strait to color, But there is always more than one way to skin a cat, * wow what a terrible old analogy * hahah... ANYWAYS, yes I decided I wanted to play around with some gradients before going strait to color. here they are!! ^_^

3.jpg

4.jpg

Step 4 - COLORRR

Now the correct way to do the greyscale thing is to FULLY paint it out before you jump to color.. but I unfortunately am quite impatient at times hahah. BUT thats ok! I always get to where I need to go when it comes to art. I was done staring at a black and white picture when I could feel color oozing out of my soul.

5.jpg

I work in photoshop so its simply creating new layers color layers and overlaying them... there are also color brushes, and color gradients.. so many ways to do this. BUT LOOK, finally some color. I wanted it to have a very warm and foresty feel...

Step 5- More color!!

I decided that it was much too yellow, it looked really cool at first but my eyes are constantly changing when it comes to stuff I either like or dont. You can see that I have begun adding more details as well as figuring out the skin tone.

6.jpg

Step 6. Time to start painting details!

Here you can see, especially in the eyes how I have begun painting in details, little strands of hair... fixing colors and lights.. this is the meat and potatoes of this process.

7.jpg

Step 7. the slow end process...

It doesnt look like much of a difference but SOOO much has happened!! AND I actually received a tip from a dear friend of mine involving a bevel tool... ill show that next. I really wanted some nice texture in those earrings !!

8.jpg

Step 8. THEM TEXTURES!!

Here is a close up of the rings after I added my texture... it looks very nice I think :)

earings.jpg

COMPLETTTEEE!!! I think over all this piece probably took me about 7-10 hours. I didn't record my process this time but that's ok, I don't always feel like doing so :).

9.jpg

I REALLY HOPE YOU ALL ENJOYED THIS!!

I will be back again and again with much more art to come!!

Again my name is Nycto and thank you so much for stopping by, you love comments and support is what keeps me going ^_^. -Nycto

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

@blue-dragon Thank you so much!! Its so great to be back!!! =D

It sounds difficult to create one illustration when you have more references. I think that when you have one you can build your scheme faster (not sure that this is the case but this is how I think about it :))

It's a very nice illustration and you took the best out of both references. I love her eyes. They look like they have hypnotizing power. Her hair is wild and rich, very nice. I'm sure that the client loved her portrait.

It's nice to see so many progress shots and clear explanation of the process. I always enjoy reading posts like this.

Thank you for sharing and have a good Tuesday!

WOOO!! Thank you so much @delishtreats Im really glad that you enjoy posts like this!! ^_^ I will keep them coming, thank you so much for commenting!

Congratulations @nyctoinc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hey man congratz!! I can't wait to see the finished work!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you married the two references really well, @nyctoinc :) It's a very nice fantasy portrait ! I bet she would be super happy to receive this artwork from you, specially since she and her bf has been a long time fan of your art :)

Thanks so much @veryspider Im glad you think so!! Apparently she just received it yesterday!! =D Im just waiting on her to send a photo! =D

Your art is quite amazing, you have a lot of talent indeed. Thanks for showing the whole process. Fascinating works, and end result. Amazing how much the final does look a lot like your client too(sans horns, of course. Maybe better not tell her I said that ( :
I've just discovered your art on Steemit, thanks for sharing it with us. Have a nice night, and draw/paint away. Cheers

CHEERSSS @ddschteinn =D Thank you so much for saying so! Im really glad that you enjoyed the process. Ill be sure to keep on making posts like this! ^_^

What an amazing artwork, @nyctoinc!

Now, about this concept. A girl with horns... doesn't that have any meaning where you live in? In Portugal, that is not a very good thing. At all.

hahahahha!!! Thank you so much @trincowski Im not a religious person, well I am but I am a spiritualist. Horns are amazing on women :). Thank you so much for liking my art!

You really don't know, do you?

Over here, having horns means that your love partner is cheating on you. 😂

hahahahh!!! Oh man yea I had no idea about that, its funny how different things have different meanings all over the world =D

Ahahaha. For sure!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87