Rain Clouds

in #art6 years ago (edited)

rainTH.jpg

Dark skies

Warm summer days feel so distant as I look up at the sky to the dark rain clouds above. Some days I embrace the rain, the quenching of the dry earth in my garden after a heatwave, the invigorating energy of a thunderstorm. On days when the sky stays a gloomy grey and the rain is relentless I feel like it is energy zapping. The light becomes too poor to draw by and the colour palette in my work seems to change from the vibrant greens and blues to darker tones.

darkrain.jpg

Today, I'm sharing with you one of my recent ink drawings 'Rain clouds' from a series of drawings I have created called 'Strange Creatures'. In this series the paper is prepared with ink marks and water and ink washes, to create monochrome surfaces of pattern before a dip pen is used to create a line drawing.

For this piece water was applied to the paper in the form of droplets, then tiny amounts of watered down ink was added to each droplet to create the effect of a rain drop once dried. A large pool of water was placed at the top of paper, and then ink gently dropped into the water to create the rain cloud. The paper was placed at a slight angle to dry so that the ink would be darker towards the base of each water droplet.

september186.jpg

Once the water droplets had dried a dip pen and drawing ink was used to draw in the figures.

An important part of my practice as an artist is experimentation with materials. I dedicate time to trying out new materials or techniques, and expand my approaches to drawing. This year I've been using a lot of black ink to create my drawings, this really started to be the main medium I was working with when I was creating the illustrations for Doug Karr's novel Dwelling. It is a medium I continue to return to as I explore the relationship between the wet medium of ink and the surface qualities of the papers.

inksplat.png

rainwindow.gif

inksplat.png

Rain Clouds

raincloud.jpg

Ink on paper

Part of the 'Strange Creatures' collection.

rainwindow.gif

9inkmarks.png

Redbubble shop

Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

pagefooterM.png

I'm thrilled to announce that DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side, is now available in print and ePub.

Sort:  

rainy days gave you excellent inspiration. The reflection of this idea on paper is perfect !. very very successful drawing. congrats!

and have a nice day :)

Glad you enjoyed the work, thank you @mnallica

Oh, I am hoping we have those dark skies and rain today. Actually, as I type this the winds are battering the house and the sea is whipped up so I am hoping rain is on the way!

I like your little fellows watching the rain come.

The winds are shaking the fences and gates outside my house right now. Bang, bang, bang!

I admire all the techniques you know dear friend @opheliafu, our environment, in this case the rain could be a huge source of inspiration
thank you very much for letting us know this work
I wish you a great day

I love to share the inspiration behind the work, even something as simple as a rainy day. Thank you @jlufer.

A beautifully simplistic piece!

the ink stroke is absolutely fabulous. Absolutely beautiful.
Incredibly cloud effects! Very well done!

There is something very beautiful, and storm like, about drops of blank ink floating in water.

I love how you take inspiration for this particular drawing. I also love that you like experimentation and trying out several different things. I have been trying out new things in my artwork recently too. It feels really good :)

Yes it is always good to experiment with materials and to find new ways to convey ideas and feelings.

Great Post 😆

wow i really love rain its a great blessing from God 🍹🍸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34