Boulders in Brittany

in #art5 years ago

HuelTH.jpg

The chaos of rocks

I recently visited Huelgoat, a beautiful commune in Brittany, a region in the west of France. After having coffee and a pastry for breakfast at a local patisserie I went for a walk by the lake, then across to the other side of the bridge to follow the giant boulders that make up the Le Chaos de Rochers.

HUELgB.jpg

The lake and old mill at Huelgoat

I followed the path over and through the many boulders, hearing the thunderous roar of the river far below in La Grotte du Diable, the Devil's Grotto.

groot.jpg

I stopped to look at the moss covered boulders lining the valley below, creating the appearance of a enchanted landscape, before climbing upwards towards La Roche Tremblante. The trembling rock, La Roche Tremblante, is a giant boulder, apparently put there by a giant. I gave it a little push, but I could not get it to tremble.
HUELG.jpg

Many boulders including La Roche Tremblante, the trembling rock
3inkmarks.png

Boulders

I created a little drawing inspired by my walk through the moss covered boulders.

bouldersM.jpg

Paint pen and watercolour on paper

inksplat.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.

pagefooterL.png

Society6 shop

Redbubble shop

You can find my tokenized art on SuperRare, KnownOrigin and MakersPlace.

Sort:  

Awesome photographs. Looks like a beautiful place to visit and a great place for art inspiration. A place of peaceful contemplation like depicted in your art

Posted using Partiko Android

@opheliafu Hello dear friend, judging by the images, this was a wonderful walk. What a beautiful and incredible place. Congratulations on your choice of visit.
Thank you very much for letting us know these beautiful images
I wish you a wonderful night and a happy rest

I'm in love with Brittany, if I was not living in Annecy I would like to live in Brittany...anywhere in Brittany 😊 ❤️ Dang! your photos made me want to live there again ! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94