Drawing for Dwelling -Ndusen's Notepad

in #art6 years ago

listTH.png

Lists

My life is full of lists; shopping lists, to-do lists, contact lists. In Chapter Twenty Eight of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling the character Ndusen is writing down a list of his own. In this post you can see the process of how I created the illustration 'Ndusen's Notepad ' for Chapter Twenty Eight of Dwelling.

On the second floor, Axlerod walked through an empty apartment, followed by Ndusen, who scribbled notes into a small pad. The telephone was tolerable, but actually having to be in the same room as Axlerod was another story.

Chapter Twenty Eight of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

6inkmarks.png

Creating an illustration for Dwelling -Ndusen's notepad

Using a dip pen and drawing ink I wrote down Ndusen's list of tasks to complete.

April1819.jpg

I then applied ink with a brush to add darker tones to the edges of Ndusen's writing pad.

listG.gif

Strips of tape where applied at the edge of the drawing of the pad, when removed later this will provide lighter tones to create the wire binding of the pad. I then applied a real page from a spiral bound notepad to act as a stencil for the circular holes at the top of Ndsuen's pad, I used a brush to dab ink over the top of the holes before removing it to reveal the stenciled circles on the paper. To add a dirtier look to the pages of Ndusen's pad ink splatter was applied to the image using and old brush and ink.

April1820.jpg

April1821.jpg

3inkmarks.png

Finally, a dip pen was used to draw in the wire spiral binding at the top of the notepad, and the other detail and outlines.

listboard.png

"All these walls primed and repainted," Axlerod was saying about apartment #7. He pointed to the bathtub, sitting prominently next to the sink in the middle of the dining area. "Bathtub's gone. We're gonna put a glass shower stall and a sink in the ensuite." Pausing at the refrigerator, he opened the door. He turned to Ndusen, "This is relatively new, right?"

Chapter Twenty Eight of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

3inkmarks.png

'Ndusen's Notepad'

notebookM.png

Ink on paper

inksplat.png

"Everything else: stove, counter tops, gas heater, kitchen sink. That's all gotta go."

Ndusen scribbled quickly in his pad. Axlerod pointed to the ceiling.

"And we're gonna do track lighting throughout. You show me samples."

Ndusen scribbled and nodded.

Chapter Twenty Eight of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 28th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

great collections

Hello Opheliafu, Good afternoon, I like how you always manage to develop your ideas, I think I need to practice much more, I would like to know your opinion of my last publication please look at it, and good work.

I started making a list to help with my short term memory loss from years of taking heart medication.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71