Drawing for Dwelling - Votives

in #art6 years ago

candlesTH.jpg

Candlelight

In Chapter Twenty Nine of @dougkarr's novel Dwelling the power is still out in Ludlow Street, and as darkness descends the candles and fires are lit. In this post you can see the process of how I created the illustration 'Votives' for Chapter Twenty Nine of Dwelling.

Walking into the building foyer Morris found Stella, the young African who lived in the super’s apartment, crouched down lighting votive candles in the hallway. She looked up, but Morris moved past without acknowledging her. The last thing he needed was another blind idealist trying to brighten his mood.

Chapter Twenty Nine of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

6inkmarks.png

Creating an illustration for Dwelling

I don't normally share poorly lit photographs, but for this chapter of Dwelling it seemed very fitting, I started to draw this image at the end of the day but as the sun faded the light became to poor to draw by.

votivedark.jpg

She'd given up trying to find anything in the dark, and she'd had enough with fires for a lifetime, feeling more comfortable in the pitch-blackness than surrounded by candles.

Chapter Twenty Nine of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

3inkmarks.png

April1822.jpg

I resumed work on the picture the next day when daylight had returned. I applied layers of ink and water to the image to create a range of tones. Once the drawing was dry I applied finer detail to the image using a dip pen and drawing ink.

candlesboard.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Votives'


Ink on paper

inksplat.png

In the living room candles burned all around, Kondwani lay under a blanket, her eyes focused on her children sleeping nearby. Abruptly she sprang to her feet and marched towards the bedroom.

Chapter Twenty Nine of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 29th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

This one makes me feel happy. Sometimes I wish the power would go out. Think I'll turn off all the lights tonight and light some candles.

It is hard to find the pure darkness of a moonless night in a world filled with artificial light. I remember one night in the desert, no moon, no artificial lights, just a pitch black sky and the stars.

Wow such a amazing post .

And beautiful black and white art combination .
I have no words for explanation .

Thanks for sharing @opheliafu

Upvote you .

Great work. Art is healing for me.:))

amazing b&w Art

The painting feels mysterious yet intimate, it fits very well with the story.

I can not explain in a word.
nice looking.

Very nice photography

Good B&W art :)

It is a pretty simple drawing but his message for me is something deep, those candles represent as a tribute to someone who died in a tragic way? Or at least that's what I think

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09