Stairs - a drawing for Dwelling

in #art6 years ago

stairsSQth.jpg

In this post you can see the illustration 'Stairs' that I created for Chapter Thirty Six of @dougkarr's amazing novel Dwelling.

Morris strained for the tenement handrail. He’d climbed these stairs without since he’d learned to walk, and now here it was, a lifeline.

Chapter Thirty Six of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling

Creating an illustration for Dwelling

The drawing of the stairs was sketched out lightly in pencil. Then areas were masked out and subtle tones were built up in inks.

April1835.jpg

A dip pen and drawing ink was used to add the darker lines of the handrails.

stairsdraw.gif

9inkmarks.png

starirs board.jpg

He started to cough. A few sharp phlegmy pants of air at first, but then another flight up, his esophagus seized and his breath became shallow.

Chapter Thirty Six of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling

3inkmarks.png

'Stairs'


Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

I just can’t help but stare at these captivating stairs.

You'll get over them, just take it one step at a time.

I love the shading and the light grunge style at the walls. The stairs pretty much look like they were made of concrete.

@opheliafu what beautiful illustration dear friend, I really like the realism that has. congratulations for another great job
I wish you a wonderful night

I looks very realistic.

I really like the work you're doing for Dwelling. It's very edgy, graphic novel style.

I love this image and the way you've posted it. Feels like I'm reading the actual story

I've always love black and white art, this is really nice!

Hello @opheliafu, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34