An Afternoon Painting at the Lake - Work in progrees Acrylic on Canvas

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey Everyone

Yesterday I decided to go back up to the lake where I was camping last week and paint a little scene of the front side of the lake. It was a really warm and a nice day to spend at the lake all be it a bit on the smokey side. Unfortunately there are major fires burning across the Pacific Northwest.

20180808_155819.jpg

When I arrived I kicked off my sandals and decided to walk to the water barefoot. This was a bad idea, as I got close to the water I realized after being lightly stung that there were lots of wasps in the area. No problem I walked back to my sandals next to the easel and as I arrived I stepped directly on one resulting in the worst sting I've ever had, I'm sure he didn't enjoy it either. I was literately about a foot away from my sandals when I was stung.

The Surroundings.

It's a rather small lake but I love the grass that surrounds it. Just don't walk barefoot through this grass!
20180808_155742.jpg

This is the small campground. There are about 5 campsites off to the left in the trees that you can't see in the picture. But they're really nice and it's free as well.

20180808_155726.jpg

Anyway rather than paint a specific scene I took in the surroundings and created painting that used many elements all around me.

This is a work in progress and I painted for about two and a half hours. It's definitely going on the easel to be completed.
This is what it looked like when I was planing on just painting the lake in front of me.
20180808_132608.jpg

But then I liked the lighting behind me so I turned around and started a composition that used all the elements that surrounded me instead.
20180808_155819.jpg
Normally I work with oil on canvas but anytime I go out into nature to paint I use acrylics. This is acrylic on canvas. 11 * 14

I'll post more progress pictures as I finish it!

Thanks for taking a look and I'd love to hear your thought!

Sort:  

Beautiful job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28