Love Me Some Old Books

in #art5 years ago

I like to go through old books looking for cool artwork. Here a few pics of some recent finds. It is hard to find the time to hang around in used bookshops for hours these days, but always rewarding when I do. People always say I should have a book shop, but I couldn't do it! A library - sure, but I would end up keeping 75% of my merchandise if I opened up a used book store. Plus, it always baffles me how small used and independent book shops stay open. What with the cost of commercial real estate these days, you'd have to sell a heck of a lot of books just to make that rent payment, much lee turn a profit. Well, more power to those bookstore owners, and I have spent a small fortune in the past keeping them in business. Nowadays, I limit myself to one book when I go....maaaaaybe 2!

W. Langdon Kihn from 1935 children's book "Flat Tail".

The Second Day of Creation by Escher, woodcut, 1925.

Back in the day, they used to engrave their cat memes.

From a Latvian edition of "Evenings on a Farm Near Dikanka" by Nikolai Gogol. The artist is S. Adamovičs. 1961.

Sort:  

beautiful woodcuts! sign of a classic.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like the first two images by Kihn and Escher. The storm on the water is very cool. There is something about the images being created out of lines that I find intriguing. Very cool. Sounds like a fun hobby, going to the used book stores and taking pictures of the artwork. I agree that it is baffling how they stay open. Though, I often see people in the used book store that I pass on my way to class. I enjoy them myself. I have definitely bought a few books and traded others at a few stores in my area.

Posted using Partiko Android

Requiring people to hand carve their cat memes may save the internet! 😁
Looking for art in old books is a great idea. You’ve found some gems.

I do love a used book store as well. The one closest to my house closed recently but there is another one not too far away that has some good stuff. I picked up a few leather bound sherlock holmes from the 70's just because for a dollar each they look fancy on my shelf :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71