Dotting a mandala on Canvas.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians!


Friday is finally here and that means WEEKEND! Always gives me a happy feeling! Do you have any plans for this weekend? I do! I want to be lazy but I already know that I will be doing a lot of crafting! You see, I have this addiction of buying new stuff and that needs to be tried out!


I might need to buy a new room soon because I am getting way too much things yet I really need them of course! ((Laughs)) I do! You see, one can never have enough paint or brushes! Or paper and pencils or books for that matter! Anyways!


I have done it again! The dots are back!


Or they have never left!


20180506_131952.jpg


I moved from stone to canvas!




I love dotting with paint on stones and I have been thinking about Christmas already! Yupp, I did! Am I going insane? Perhaps BUT.....I think this might be a really cool idea! I want to make matching stones with canvas to give away with Christmas to those I love!


So this week I started this up. This is my first one and I do like the end result! I am learning more and more and I might be ready to go to the next step, a level higher! The patterns you can create are endless and some really look so amazing! I really want to learn how to do those but I have to start easy!


The progress pictures.




20180505_165121.jpg


I stared by painting the canvas black and used a ruler to find the middle!


20180505_171043.jpg


For this mandala I mixed soft colors. I used white, blue, pink and purple. I started in the middle and worked my way to the corners. The small dots are made with a dot pen and the bigger ones are made with the back side of a pencil!


20180505_172136.jpg


I slowly started to add more dots from the middle to the outside. At times, I really had to take a break because I wanted to dot too fast and the paint does take time to dry! When I get excited I often want it to finisgh way too fast! So, I drank some coffee and ate a few pink cookies!


20180506_130133.jpg


At first I wanted to fill the whole canvas with dots but I changed my mind because I liked the black color as well with the rest! I wonder if others find it hard as well to know when to stop with a creation? If you have any tips, please let me know!


20180506_131932.jpg


I added a few more white dots and made sure the middle lines were all covering the canvas to the ends. I am really happy that I stopped with the dots. I have seen a few amazing works totally covered in dots but I think this one is perfect the way it is.


20180506_131952.jpg


Now all I need is to find a place to keep it safe! You see, I made this as a present yet... I kinda like it myself! If I don't hide it, it might end up on my own wall!


Thank you for reading my post!


Best wishes
@poeticsnake


152448613663719991.jpg


151986693688816716.jpg


152175829957373556 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Great work as always! you're such an awesome steemian!

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

minnowbooster upvote in the amount of $76.30 STU, $144.52 USD.

For a total calculated value of $76 STU, $145 USD before curation, with approx. $19 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Again I'm falling behind following your art. Life in the way, again.
Last post you had small back stones. Progressing to canvas looks great.
Why not a huge slab of stone next time? Line a piece of granite or flagstone? Use outdoor paints and you can display your work outside your front door.
Whatever you decide, keep on doing it. Hugs.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

PS thanks for the recent vote :)

Oh, and I gave your friend a full upvote. Hope she gets a new camera soon.

Cool mandala, really mesmerising :D
I really like how you added smaller dots in the big ones. Makes it a little more complex :)

Oh I love it! The reason I wanted to get creative again last year was because I saw these amazing dot paintings of an artist over there.. But I didn't have the material and space for it, so I bought some markers and sketchbooks to draw some other things..

I still love the dotting art though, but I guess my boyfriend will go nuts if I come home with painting stuff too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87