What is hyper focus and Dotting dots dot tod stod gnittoD!

in #art6 years ago

I have dotting lost my mind!

20180611_194749.jpg



Dots, I see dots no matter where I look!


Finally I finished a new stone! After working on stones for a weeks in a row, I took a little break to focus on some other things! BUT... I missed it! So yesterday, I started to work on a new patern and stone! For this project I used a stone, acrylic paint, a brush, dotting pens, the backside of a pencil and some water!


I started by covering the whole stone in black paint. One layer was enough in this case. After that I waited for a about an hour to start dotting! Normally, I like to look online to see patterns but I did not do that this time. I just went with the flow!


20180609_164621.jpg



I see, I see, what you don't see and the color is RED!


At first I wanted use as much red as possible with a little yellow and orange in the mix. That's why I made the heart of the Stone red. It always happens that I make a start with a sort of plan and change that all around and end up with something totally different! It's how I honestly love to work. I am not good with plans because I always see new things, hear new things and smell new things! That is why I am happy I totally zone off into bliss while I do these dots. I go into hyper focus.


Hyper Focus, what the dot is that?


Hyperfocus is an intense form of mental concentration or visualization that focuses consciousness on a subject, topic, or task. In some individuals, various subjects or topics may also include daydreams, concepts, fiction, the imagination, and other objects of the mind.


20180610_153456.jpg



The only moments that my mind is quiet, is when I go into Hyper Focus.


I always think, always talk inside myself and it's never quiet in my head. This is reason I kept looking into crafts at the first place. I tried meditation but it did not work. No matter how hard I tried, my head kept screaming.


The same thing happens when I go to bed. No rest for the wicked! I repeat the whole day at least 4 times and then some. One might thing, go to sleep when you're really super tired and you can't keep your eyes open anymore! YEP, that's what I do. But the moment I drop myself down in my bed my mind seriously says.."Sleep? Hell nooooo. You need to think about this and that!" Okay, that is not really what my mind tells me, it's honestly just this..."You want sleep? RIGHT FUCK THAT!"


20180610_154608.jpg



Dotting brings me peace and quiet!


Some people run to find peace, others do yoga or they meditate. I go into hyper focus when I dot. I really feel better after being in that mindset. It's the same kind of feeling I used to get after a work out. I feel tired, yet fresh and ready to tackle the world.


When I go into huper focus, I lose track of everything around me and all the sounds in my head go silent. To me that is a feeling I would descibe as walking on the clouds in Heaven. Some people have tried to get my attention when I am in hyper focus and they all failed. Time no longer holds me in its grip and it happened a few times that half the day was gone when I snapped out of the zone and back into life.


20180611_141602.jpg



I had my focus and now I am ready to tackle the new week!


Right now, my mind is calm and I feel happy! All my worries dozed off to sleep until the moment it wears off again. This can happen in a few hours or a in a few days. I always hope for the last one! But if that is not happening I will just find myself a new project to work on and do it all over again! Gosh, do I sound like I am addicted to dotting?


I still have three big rocks waiting to be dotted! But I also want to make a huge one on canvas in the near future. I have been thinking about counting my dots but... I will lose track anyways! And, counting them after the fact will get me so frustrated I might end up hitting my when I drop the stone down!


20180611_194749.jpg



The end result made me smile from ear to ear!


I am happy with the outcome of the pattern and the colors I used! I think the white makes it all jump out in a really nice way!
Have you ever dotted? Even went in to a hyper focus? I would love to hear your story so feel free to leave a reply!



Thank you for reading my post!


Best wishes
@poeticsnake



152448613663719991 (1).jpg

Sort:  

I honestly missedyour pebble art. I wonder if I could do something similar ro decorate my shakers

Oh, I think you can! You can find amazing patterns online on Google. Just make sure to cover the dots with a good Varnish to keep them pretty! :D

If only I had your patience 😫

Maybe you can buy some in a special store? LOL.

Lovely work as usual @poeticsnake... I think hyper focus may be similar to Flow, or Flow Activities. I can thoroughly recommend this book by an unpronounceable author on the subject.

Keep living the good life!

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/66354.Flow

The content of your post is very interesting, I really admire it ..
And I always support your success

You are stone crazy, my dear sneky woman!
Close your eyes, and breathe in and out.
Your street may burn down around you and you may not notice. These dots are driving you crazy!
steemsig.png
PS Joking with you. Keep up the good work

Beautiful. I love to paint in dots too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71