🌟ANTIQUE THURSDAY: A VENINI CHANDELIER 🌟

in #art5 years ago

Antique Thursdays Cover.jpg

In the spirit of continuity and self-motivation, I am starting Antique Thursdays. Each Thursday, I will pick an antique that I have in my shop, or have sold, and tell you, my Steem Fam, all about it!


Today's Antique is actually vintage, not antique, but hey, it's all good!

Firstly - DID YOU KNOW that an antique is any object over 100 years old or older, and vintage is any object over twenty years or older.

IMG_6818.jpg

Today's item is a very rare and unique Venini Fireworks Chandelier.

Venini is an Italian glass company, started in 1921 by Giacomo Cappellin, an antiques dealer from Venice and Paolo Venini, a lawyer from Milan. Source

Venini is based on the island of Murano, in Venice, which is very famous for its incredible glasswork. This particular style of chandelier dates back to the 1960's, and is identifiable by it's cascading glass droplets, often in coloured glass. I actually have a pink one in my apartment, that I bought for a ridiculously cheap price. (I'll tell you that story some other time)

IMG_6817.jpg

I love these lights as I feel that they have a very contemporary feel, even though they are close to sixty years old. This is definitely mid-century modern, and has all the slim lines and curves of a light of that period.

I can just imagine this light in a stark, modern room, with interesting art (think Picasso), and slick mid-century modern furniture by designers like Mies Van Der Rohe and Charles Eames.

IMG_6816.jpg

How do you feel about this vintage light? Yay or Nay?

Let me know if there is a certain type of antique you are curious to learn more about!

Sort:  

Beautiful piece. Thank you for sharing @princessmewmew. Looking forward to future features ;)

Thanks my guy, I also love sharing these as it is my passion!

At aseriously cool piece I will never live somewhere it would fit but I still love it

It is just nice to look at! C

I can only imagine in person it must be amazing

Oh MY GOD, it look so fancy, like a princess light ^^ Italian glass companies closes to MUrano are always good quality products ^^ By the way for me it's a : YAYYY, i like these kind of stuff also if it can not suits in a house like mine XD

It is so pretty, and the glass is from Vienna so close enough to Murano xx

@princessmewmew beautiful, good idea to have a day for a determined theme, beautiful post

Thank you mamazita! I find it helps to keep my posts constant to have a theme 💓

@princessmewmew yrd, now you are constant, I will give my votes in whaleshares

I think it's beautiful. In YOUR place. As I've told you my Grandmother had a chandelier that my father and I spent a whole day on once per year. Urrrrgggghhhh.

Well, I didn't know there was a definition period for vintage and antique. 20 years? 1998? Most of my clothing is vintage! But I am really greatful that I am not personally antique...

LAAAWL TOM!!! My vintage friend

Congratulations @princessmewmew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05