A Bit Wet in the City!

in #art6 years ago

16x20 acrylic Log Road.jpg

This is one of my very very rare landscape type paintings. Every once in a while I push my comfort zone boundaries and try something I'm not especially skilled at. The landscape edition was a few years back. I'm thinking I should do a few more at some point, to see if I've gotten any better.

I chose this one to post today because we got deluged last night here in Toronto. Luckily for me, the entirety of the storm happened during our run of Belleville-Ville last night. We were indoors. Although, at one point during the show, one of the characters ran offstage into the 'Blue Effluence' of the beach water, and went outside, and was soaked within seconds, so it really really came down. And since that last paragraph probably made no sense to all of you who don't know what Belleville-Ville is, it's a long-form improv show that I perform in once a month. Anything can happen in improv.

Anyway, we have streetcars trapped in flooded tunnels, wet basement apartments, submerged cars on main streets! It's pretty crazy.

I'm looking forward to the bipartisan flame war that will undoubtably erupt over this. I get tons of material from childish political squabbling. Rumour has it, Lisa MacLeod of the Ontario PC party believes the NDP is fabricating the chaos in Toronto. Those PCs are so nutty. Can't wait to vote against them again!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

its amazing..

Has this moody calm feeling to it. Reminds me of the floods I saw near Kernville

It's neat how water is the perfect vehicle for mood, eh?

Kernville, California? That's not a state known for its rain, I hear. That must have been intense. :)

Northern California gets a lot of rain actually.Kernville is in the desert but it is near mountains and forests and there were major rains before the flooding.

gosh i love how you capture the colours of the world in this painting <3 the surface of the water is so smooth and mirrorlike and almost like a sheet of satin silk <3 Simply beautiful !

Improv shows are always super interesting :>

And I hope the deluge season will pass for you, soon, as well !

Thank you so much, @veryspider! I think the worst is behind us. Two people nearly drowned in an elevator not too far away from me. Rescued with only one foot of air left! Crazy stuff.

Now it's just dealing with all the damage. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75