A Healthy Mind

in #art5 years ago

Fixed tw.jpg

Looks like my healthcare workout has just begun. I went to see a doctor recently for asthma, and was sent for a few other tests. It's a wonderful thing that healthcare is largely free here. Medication is not, but at least the diagnostics are. Whatever my misgivings for doctors themselves may be, and I have many, most of our diagnostics now are computer-based, so I feel I'm in decent hands when I'm with a machine.

The ECG machine was down a couple days ago when I left for my requisites, so I returned yesterday. The technicians can read the monitor, but they're not allowed to tell you what they see. Fortunately/unfortunately for me, I've learned to read faces. Hers said that I have arrhythmia. She then mumbled something about taking more blood to test for thyroid something something, which wasn't on the original requisite sheet, so after a couple more needles, I left with that echoing in my head.

As much as they hate it when people scour WebMD for info, because we scare ourselves with the worst information, I always do it. I'm glad I did, though, or I otherwise wouldn't know to tell the doctor when I go for the follow-up, that my grandfather had Graves Disease. Bulgy eyes and everything. The more symptoms I looked up, the better it seems to describe me. Right down to the prematurely greying hair. It's not out to lunch for one to be greying in their early thirties, but apparently problems in the endocrine system can result in depigmentation, and a good quarter of the hairs on my little head are stark white.

It's not been diagnosed yet, but I feel comforted in a weird way to know that my issues are probably not extremely severe. There are several treatments available to me if I'm right about this. One of them is a radioactive iodine pill! That sounds like how I'll get my superpowers. If Spiderman got in that route, I will too, dag-nabbit. That's just how it works. Lol.

After all that, I came home again. Mikey and I were celebrating an anniversary of sorts. We moved in together on the Ides of March. What bad luck has ever befallen anyone on the Ides of March? Lol. Nothing so far for us. We got each others' backs. Alas, though, we didn't get to celebrate together. He had to be off to go perform in Evil Dead, out in Oshawa.

Instead, a friend of mine took me out to sushi and a play! It was a lovely night, and a really good show. If you're in Toronto at some point, check out School Girls; Or, The African Mean Girls Play. It's really funny, written by one of the staff writers for the show Russian Doll on Netflix, Jocelyn Bioh. There's some heavier scenes too, but they are well-balanced with laughter scenes, which is perfect if you're like me and can't handle too much intensity.

Apropos of the painting I selected to share today, I'm going to focus on work. As soon as I've washed the dishes in my dirty disgusting sink, I'm going to focus on painting today. For a healthy mind.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11