A New Frame by Mikey. And video of me working.

in #art5 years ago

Coulrophilia framed.jpg

There's something about a frame that just pulls all the details together in an art piece. Especially when it pulls out a colour that isn't hugely prominent. Maybe this one isn't the best example, because the hair does stand out on its own. However. I think that the blue in the frame to match the hair really makes the balloons stand out. She looks like she's in an actual balloon pit now, with the sides of the frame up.

I am one to make my pieces ready to hang on their own, with wire and sides painted fresh. I think that's best, since not everyone can afford a frame. Art should be accessible. Frames are icing on the cake.

I've also done a tiny bit of fixing on this piece. I'd used an alcohol-based marker to trace the original linework, not realizing that alcohol ink bleeds upwards through many layers of paint. I used this piece as a model so that I could kill two birds with one stone, about a week ago. A friend from my earlier improv days came by to film stock footage of me painting, so I worked out the up-bleed problems on film.

Here's a 14-second video.

Gads, I didn't realize how tired and puffy I looked. I was really sick and trying to hide it when he shot the video. Oh well. Promo is promo! :)

Another day, another dollar. Off I go!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

You should bobross that shiz!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol! I've had a go pro on my wishlist for like three years now! I really want to!

I love the blue of the frame because it plays off the blue of her hair and gives a very complementary border against the sea of maroon balloons :D A beautiful work, Mikey !!!!

And it is so cool to see a video of you painting !!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84