Abstract Attractions.

in #art5 years ago

Opium.jpg

Last night, at a friend's house, we got to talking for quite awhile about many different things, from sociology, to politics, to art.

I found myself complaining a bit, not meaningfully, but in something of a jealous way about abstract art on the market. The art market is extremely saturated with abstract art. It's been my experience that the majority of larger galleries cater to mostly abstract artwork. There's relatively little representational art in funded gallery space, and very very very little surrealism.

My jealousy is that I sometimes feel like work that didn't take the planning and execution that mine requires seems easier to move. I know I oversimplify how much work goes into abstract pieces, but it feels like my toiling is greater, to less favourable result. And so I am jealous. I have friends who do abstracts exclusively, and I would never say any of this to them, because I do respect them. Here are my feelings anyway, on a plate.

It came up because I've had two stretching jobs the last week and a half - one very very large canvas from France:

Megan and Josh piece Stretched.jpg

And one canvas print, probably more local, but I have no details.

Gunjan stretched canvas 1.jpg

Now, these are very large. The first one was something like 6 feet by 4 feet. The second one is closer to 3 feet by 4 feet. I know what it costs just to have canvas printed. The second piece probably cost 500-600 dollars, so I can only imagine what the original was going for. The people who buy this art LOVE this art. They love it enough, such as with the first one, to buy it abroad, and pay for it to be shipped overseas. That's a huge investment in both money and love. My poor jealous heart!

But no. You can see how much work went into the larger piece. Layers and layers of careful compositioning. In the smaller one, the movement is more free, but the artist had to have an excellent knowledge of materials to create the careful overlap effect with liquid media, as well as a steady hand not to slip.

I shouldn't be envious. I do get a lot of lot for my work. It IS niche. I guess I just wish there were more spaces for my styles of work available to the public. Self-promotion is not easy!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

It is human to have such feelings if you feel like you're being undervalued for the work you do while others do less (in your opinion) and get much more. It's all subjective but I can understand you and relate in so many aspects of my life.

If you just take simple things like Steemit. I also envied so many people here at the beginning. I spent hours and hours on my posts and my rewards were always below 1. Then you see those people posting one photo and getting rewards of 50 USD or so.. But then I learned not to compare my work to others and I started to feel better :)

I wish that you dreams come true and the market for your work will grow :)

Have a nice rest of Sunday!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations @rachelsvparry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @rachelsvparry, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04