New Painting! Bilbo at Teatime.

in #art5 years ago

Bilbo at Teatime tw.jpg

It's funny how much more energy there is for inspired projects than paid ones. I've been busting my butt lately, working odd jobs at odd hours. I somehow found time to finish this piece, after only a few days of working on it, and I'm really happy with it.

I have a feeling there may be a few Bilbo paintings, extending long after he finds his forever home.

The tea cup is one of the several I bought from the antique store that closed down around the corner from me this summer. I find it delightful.

Bilbo is such a natural name for this cat. He's small, we found him adventuring in a place that was far from home, his feet are hairy like a hobbit, he loves to eat. This cat is an obvious Bilbo. He strikes me as very lucky, too. Something about him seems like good fortune follows his tiny footsteps.

There aren't many this time, but here are the in-progress shots that I've been sharing.

Bilbo Tea.jpg

Bilbo Tea 1.1.jpg

All both of them!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Wow o.o

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for this lovely painting, my favorite part in your painting are the cat’s eyes, love that color and the transparency that you achieved with your painting. Very realistic, you were able to reflect that curiosity of a cat, it appears like the cat has seen something that caught his eyes. Love the colors you used and really nicely paid attention to the light source. Beautiful painting!

Thank you very much, @stef1! When I took the reference photo I used for his face, he was staring into the fish tank. Very curiously! Lol!

<3

I thought this was done over digital paint over the thumbnail. This is amazing for the level of detail done. You won me over amount of details done on the head especially the eyes. :D

Bilbo is such a cute cat, and in the painting there are enough similarities to the Hobbit's Bilbo that make me understand why you named him as such.
                       
Congratulations for your curie vote =).

Thank you, @scrawly! When I found him in the hallway, so small, and on a hopefully 'There and back again' sort of adventure, it was the first name I thought of! Now that I know him, his hairy feet, and his penchant for multiple meals in a day, I'm sure it's a good fit. ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This cat is so cute. I love cats and I love tea too😍
Your drawing is amazing.
Congratulations to you for your art skills!!!👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much, @moncia90! I appreciate that. :)

Stunning kitty portrait! You are so talented. I found you because I follow @curie. I look forward to getting better acquainted with your work. (You’re not tempted to be Bilbo’s forever mom?)

Thank you so much, @jayna! I look forward to sharing more!

I actually am very tempted to keep Bilbo. It's going to be so hard to see him off, but I don't think my home would be safe for him. We use power tools, there's always sawdust in the air, we have to go away sometimes for days, our fish tank doesn't have a lid, and I have an allergy to cats. Maybe I'm just paranoid, but I can't stop seeing safety issues for him here that I can't easily fix.

That does make sense! I couldn’t help but ask because it seems like you’re in love. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

He is the cutest. <3 <3

Nice painting.

I myself used to have a cat named Bilbo...perhaps ironically. Considering I loved The Hobbit so much as a kid though, perhaps it's only natural.

You're never too young or too old to love The Hobbit. It's a classic! :)

I love this cute cat and your interesting take on him. I was expecting a Lord of the Rings post when I clicked lol.

I also have to laugh at your progress pics. I do food posts sometimes and end up with a photo of the ingredients before I start, and an empty bowl at the end. This is not to helpful for others, but I post them anyway!

I'm not sure it's as unhelpful as you might think! It's fun to join people on their journeys. There's something wholesome about it. :D

Glad you enjoyed them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88