NEW PAINTING! "Lovely Day!" 16x20" Oil on canvas.

in #art5 years ago

Lovely Day! tw.jpg

It feels like it's been forever since I've finished a piece. You can't rush these things, you see. When you pile your plate too high with too many projects, they seem to take a lot longer to reach completion. Meep.

This piece! Is a painting based on a sketch I did some weeks back. Maybe a whole month ago. It was born of my deep inner stress, which I do my best to hide. Sometimes, a situation comes along, Coughtaxescough and you don't really want to be broadcasting the specifics of your issue, but nor do you want to be vague about your feelings. I sat for a while, worrying about our situation, worrying about the stress it caused Mikey, worrying worrying. Then I found a way to make it relatable, so that we could all have a laugh about it.

Lovely Day.jpeg

In my drawing, the balloon guy is much more daft-looking, like he's blissfully unaware of his own miring to an anvil. That, or he's overly optimistic, in spite of his personal situation.

In the painting version, I've got the balloon guy looking a bit more smug. He's either putting on a face to fool people into thinking his entire life is how it appears from the top of the water, or he's completely arrogant, and doesn't think being anchored down makes his life any less superior to someone else's. What a smug face. Lol. It makes me giggle so much.

I used the likeness of Jim Parsons, who plays/played(Is that series still going?) Sheldon Cooper in the Big Bang Theory. It came up in my search for "Weird vacuous smile" and it was perfect. Less vacuous than the original drawing, but even so.

I think we can all relate to it, I think, especially in the social media age. People are posting countless photos of themselves with filters, make-up, angles, posting about their most fun adventures, their biggest successes. It's to the point where the majority of social media seem to be a giant game of keeping up with the Joneses. Outside, we want to look like we're living the best lifestyle, but inside, we're probably all wondering how everyone else is doing it.

From above, you can't see the anchor in this painting. You see a beautiful flower, some lovely lily pads floating on the clearest water with an exotic shoulder of rock as the border. It's idyllic and peaceful. How would you know from that angle that the relaxing person is absolutely trapped?

It's simple. It doesn't really need any bells or whistles to be understood for what it is. A silly visual parable to something I think we all feel time and again.

I may add more down the road, if it's still with me down the road. Who knows. As I wrote in earlier progress reports, there is space for more, but it has to be meaningful, or at least relevant. I'm happy with it for now.

(The progress shots)
Lovely Day.jpg

Lovely Day 1.jpg

Lovely Day 1.1.jpg

Lovely Day 1.2.jpg

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

As I've said before. I love it and will posterize the sketch for the happy happy funTime Cabaret!

Love this very much amazing version too...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks pal! Can't wait to come out and see more shows! :D

hi @rachelsvparry
it is really interesting the explanation you gave of your drawing and what was the original sketch! an extraordinary way to express one's feelings. there is also a psychological theory that says that we show others only 20% of us, while the remaining 80% keep it as the submerged part of an iceberg: hidden from view. it is the world of the unsaid, of controlled emotions, of what we do not even know about ourselves.
congratulations and thanks for sharing not only your art but also your feelings

Thanks @road2horizon! I believe it whole-heartedly. In fact, I'd hazard to say that 20% is pretty generous, of what we do show. We're such complicated creatures.

Thank you so much!

Ah ! Yes <3 It is completed !!!! And what a wonderful post that you have written up for it, too :) It is such a treat to read how it had come to be and what it means to you... Truthfully, you are absolutely right, social media has become that 'surface of water' element that we see in this painting. A LOT of people are projecting an untruthful face, and who knows what is really going on 'under the water surface' .... !

As I have said in your post from yesterday, I really like the dichotomy between the above and under the water's surface, it is a painting with A LOT of meaning, but also one that carries that meaning with genuine rawness, so that it's easy to understand and to relate to...

Really love the technical skills you displayed here, also, Rachel :D The face's expression is done very well, and I love the entangled roots of the balloon, and I love the subtle heaviness of the water that you captured so nicely with how it recedes to the vague horizon and with the light shadows on the ground of the sea...

Definitely, one of my favourites from you, Rache <3 A gorgeous piece <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much!! I'm really glad you feel that way! You were with me the whole decision-making time, between complicating it, or letting the visuals be simple. It means a lot to me that this has become one of your favourites of my work. :D

<3

I feel like this so many times! But I hope that my smile looks a bit better, lol :D

It's a great idea to show your feelings in a funny way that everyone will understand and it's executed nicely. I especially like the water. You got it very well. The sand is perfect and the colors are spot on.

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

From your picture, your smile is definitely better! No need to worry on that! Lol!

I'm glad I could post something relatable. You are certainly not alone to feel this way. :)

Thank you so much, @delishtreats!

I like your painting @rachesvparry. You were able to blend contrasting colors and able to depict a brilliant work of art. I also love how you portray a message. I know every individual will have a different interpretation about it but let me share mine.

I believe that every person has their own way of showing their happiness despite their difficulties in life. No matter how they are eager to be free from their captivity in their present life, they are entangled on it because of some fear to escape from their comfort zone. They are already contented but not really have the highest satisfaction in life. But given the chance, they will be glad to go somewhere. Maybe that explains the sarcastic smile of the egg because I am sure that if it is really happy, its facial expression must be euphoric. Hope you understand what I mean.

Thanks for the share. God bless you and your artworks. Cheers!

Thank you so much, @edencourage! I love your interpretation. It's both positive and down to earth. I definitely feel that I understand your take.

Thank you again, very very much. My pleasure to share. Love and light to you as well! :)

Awesome painting you have in there. Art is indeed life and it always keeps memory of the past to live the present. I really enjoyed everything about your blog. Great work and i love how you showed the process to your work

Thank you, @ferrate! That means a lot to me. <3

You are humbly welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful post. I like it

🎗 Announcing SteemBeem DAPP ⚡ Give It A Try, Thank You!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73