New Painting! THE POND QUEEN!

in #art6 years ago

The Pond Queen tw.jpg

Paintings are seldom ever finished until they leave the studio to live on someone's loving wall forever. I have a feeling if this piece stays with me long, I will keep tinkering at it, but for all intents and purposes, it's ready to be seen by the rest of the world.

Here she is, the pond queen. Inspired by a drive-by look at one of Ontario's natural, untouched marshlands. I can't do them justice. Monet wouldn't have been able to do them justice. They're so serene, and yet teeming with life. You pretty much have to go from photography, though, because the deer flies will drive you to murder. Plein air artists are made of some real tough stuff that I can't begin to explain my awe for. How people like Monet lived without bugspray, or didn't lose his fingers in the winter is crazy. And who was it, Renoir who got Malaria? No, probably not. I'm having trouble finding out who. Still, it's surprising how many artists from the impressionist era who worked outdoors did not suffer too many mosquito related diseases. Just having one buzz around my ear increases my urge to kill.

Enough of that. Nature is so beautiful through glass. I was protected by a car door window, so I saved what I saw to file, and recreated my own vision. The vision of beautiful solitude. Peace with ones surroundings. Her dress is the life in the pond, stretched out like a splayed fan, or unraveling like one of Weezer's Sweaters.

The way they move away from each other is a little bit inspired by the way the milky way looks in a perfectly dark zone. It's like a sword of stars, with pieces sparkling away in every direction. You can see where the light is densest with your naked eye, and it appears like a cradle of light, all those other distant stars seeming like they're just off-shooters. Of course, we know many of those stars we see are whole distant galaxies of their own right, but thinking about that would spoil my mental image for this piece.

I do want to add more deadwood down the road, if someone doesn't decide they love the piece as-is first. And more frogs. And maybe even some dragonflies. This is why I have to call it done now, or it's all I'll ever work on and I'll never be finished. Lol.

I know I've posted along the way, all the progress reports and the detail shots, but here they are all together, so you can enjoy the process in one singular post.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Pond Queen.jpg

Pond Queen 1.jpg

Pond Queen 1.1.jpg

Pond Queen 1.2.jpg

Pond Queen 1.3.jpg

Pond Queen Frog Detail.jpg

Pond Queen Queen.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

i love this, @rachelsvparry ! the green is so lush and full with life and the pond feels very teeming with its wet life... gorgeous tree trucks and very beautiful framing, with the queen at the center <3 very lovely work !!!

Thank you thank you thank you! <3

@rachelsvparry I love seeing how this all came together and reading your story behind it. It was humorous at times and well thought out. The painting itself looks like it should be on display at an art show. This is very deserving of the @curie vote! Congratulations!

Thanks so much, @ilsaione! My work is very narrative driven, so there's usually a story hidden inside! Even better if it gave you some smiles. :D

I really appreciate it!

It did indeed give me some smiles! Keep doing these wonderful paintings!

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

For a moment, I honestly thought this was a digital illustration. This was rendered beautifully and I can feel the pond's magic emanating from the piece. The water looks surreal that it's better that way than being too detailed and attached to reality.

It's amazing how much detail you spent for a small face. That must've taken a lot of time to focus on a small area with great detail to render.

Thank you so much, @adamada! I appreciate that. My theory in creativity is that reality is all around us. Inescapably so. So why would I put so much effort into creating more of it? I much prefer a dreamlike ambiance in art.

And yes! Thanks again! I love my tiny tiny brushes. :D

I personally favor your theory because it encourages more of the artist's expression than being confined to the mundane scenes. But for the sake of skill honing, I'd have to adhere to render images close to realism before I start breaking the rules I have fully understood for growth. Thank you for the positive response and keep creating amazing works :D

Very beautiful @rachelsvparry! I love how there's so much green, but it all looks spectacularly different :) Such a serene looking pond Queen :)

What a beautiful painting! It’s certainly ready to be shown to the world. Love all those green in the picture and how you drew the pond queen, she is beautiful :).

Thank you so much, @scrawly! <3

This really is a great painting. I love the bright colors and the details are gorgeous!

Thank you so much, @hetty-rowan! <3

Hello that is a beautifull painting. I like that put a few photos of the steps you took to create this art.

BEAUTIFUL PAINTING @rachelsvparry ,the greenary and the girl is the highlight of your painting .It looks awesome.

Thank you very much, @sandeepadiyara! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11