Newly Finished Painting! - Players Gonna Play

in #art5 years ago

Players Gonna Play tw.jpg

The highlights are bright, the lowlights are dark, all the features jump like I had hoped they would. The anemones are much pinker than I originally intended. I meant for them to be more on the orange side. They're brightly coloured, like something from a Dr. Seuss story, and I'm happy with that. Also, I was going to work orange back in, but I decidedly like the colour matching to the trumpet.

This piece was a rare one, in that I created it by popular request, rather than my own inspiration. I used to get "suggestions" all the time. "You should paint this" and "Hey, I have an idea" and "I would buy X if you painted it"(they won't). I don't get that nearly as much anymore, surprisingly. It's not uncommon for artists -of all fields in their own way- to field these silly fancies of other people.

Recently, I get more of "Have you ever done anything like X?" Which I'm much more flattered by. It changes the tone from "I don't like your ideas, but I'm a genius, so here-" to "I really like what you do, and I'm especially interested in X". Words really do matter. Intentions, too, but words are much faster to communicate than intentions.

A year and change ago, I ended up talking with someone who was going on and on about a mural idea he had that not only did he not have funding for, was also extremely racist, and he wanted me to put it up on a public wall, guerrilla-style. I found the whole conversation offensive in more ways than I can put into words. The answer was no, of course. Don't want to leave you hanging on that one. Then, I get an odd random influx of people asking if I've ever painted otters. Strangely, I hadn't. I love otters.

My maternal great grandmother owned an island in her life, called Ottermere. Somewhere along the border between Ontario and Manitoba, I believe. She liquidated it and donated the proceeds to the Salvation Army, I've been told, to avoid allowing its inheritance to my grandmother. She went and married someone of a different (unworthy) Christian denomination, the story goes, and didn't deserve it. Anyway, Grandma had 5 kids, raised four of them, and my mom was the youngest, so I don't think it would have ended up in my close family's hands either way. But it was there!

My pagan friends tell me that my spirit guide animal is an otter, which lends me my playful attitude towards life and relationships. I'm not as wild as I used to be by a long stretch, but I still perform. I have play in my heart, which is maybe a contributing factor in my desire to live a life in the arts.

When random animal selections come up my scene writing, it's usually otters. I used them last summer in the clown show I directed.

I mean, I could probably force a personal connection to most animals. I love animals. I think my point is that otters have a special place in my heart, and I have no idea why I haven't painted one until now.

Hopefully you all enjoy it. I have several pieces to finish, and a vaping Bilbo portrait to get started on. The canvas is all primed and ready. Please feel free to ask questions. I hope my ranting doesn't give anyone the impression that I don't want to answer questions!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Dear Artist @rachelsvparry ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted by the FineArtNow Project ! The Idea of this blog is to bring creative people and art enthusiasts together and to increase the reach of Steemit - Artists ! See you soon !

Great painting Rachel. How does the trumpet tie in with the otter?

Thanks @leoplaw. :)

I forgot to mention that almost all of the people who requested of me to paint an otter are musicians. One person specifically asked for a trumpet after seeing a post of mine of a squirrel with a saxophone, so this time, the significance is by request.

Part of my frequent decision to use instruments is to appeal to that group of friends, part of it is whimsical punning on playfulness. I paint animals probably more than any other subject, but they're almost always anthropomorphic in some way.

Ah, now it all makes sense. You have to keep your audience happy. =)

I love where this has ended up at, @rachelsvparry, I think the pink anemones actually bring really lovely balance to the composition, specially since the trumpet has pink reflections :)

It is amazing the journey of your inner conversations to get to this painting :D Thanks for sharing that ! It is amazing that your great grandma used to own an island :O

I think the otter motif is definitely flowing through you and through your life quite strongly <3 I would not be surprised to see more otters from you in the future now that I know a bit more about your connections with them :)

Gorgeous piece <3 I love it !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello @rachelsvparry, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04