So...... Close....... Uuuughhhhhhh

in #art5 years ago

Kris Pigs 1.12.jpg

I thought I was going to be finished yesterday.... But I stayed out too long. We went to the Workman Arts art show for mental health, some friends and I. Then to the thrift store. I bought books, and another friend bought a bunch of plush bunnies to repurpose as a craft project. I may play too, if I find myself free on the craft date. We also set up a tentative robot build-date, to turn our recyclables into art. After that, we grabbed a coffee and talked about our lives, our careers, our directions. Then we ended the friend date at the grocery store, picking up this and that we needed respectively.

I can't remember that ever happening in my twenties. I can't remember ever thinking that I should finish a social event with a practical drop-in to pick things up. How different things are now!

Anyway, after supper was made and dishes were clean, I had enough time to do most of what was left on this piece. Instead, I obsessed over some baseball cards at the thrift store, and only ended up doing a little bit. So there's just this tiny amount of obvious detailing to do left. Mostly the little hands.

I'm not a baseball fan. I'm not a baseball card fan. I saw this package of cards and picked them up for the young son of a friend of mine, who is both. I spent too long last night trying to look up details on these cards to figure out the allure. And here it is-pretty obvious-if it were scientists or artists, I would be interested. I would collect them to learn more about them. And as a token of my nerdy interest. You could even have Rookie cards for emerging artists who receive specific awards or grants in a year.

So I post this for my friends on social media, and the first thing they all jump to is "Make them yourself!". It shouldn't irritate me, but it does. To me, it feels akin to people yelling "Paint that!" at everything. And when other people wish for things, I never see them bombarded with "make it yourself" comments. I now have a list of people to harrass with DIY comments as revenge.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04