Still in Progress, 16x20" Oil on Canvas - CITIZEN KONG!

in #art6 years ago

Citizen Kong 1.2.jpg

With the addition of a snow globe, I feel ready to announce the name that this piece will be wearing when it's finished. Citizen Kong!

I asked a bunch of friends for their favourite movie scenes, and boy did I ever get answers! My plan to recreate some of those scenes with cats instead of people is still a-gogo, but I pushed it back behind a couple other projects waiting to be made manifest.

This one is going to be a triple mash-up. Citizen Kane and King Kong are the obvious two right now - I've got Kong on his death bed from the Citizen Kane famous Rosebud scene with the snowglobe, but I've added in a metapainting of Fay Wray to really push that this is Kong, and not any old gorilla.

What's not here yet are my mourners, which are all going to be much smaller ape people, a la Planet of the Apes. What I have right now is the view from the window, which is not at all clear yet, but will hopefully look like the beached/buried Statue of Liberty from the classic Planet of the Apes movie.

This painting is going to have a really fun sense of scale when the mourners go in. It looks like a regular-sized bed for now, but he'll seem a lot bigger when he's done.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Very interesting!
btw, sweet dreams Citizen Kong!~ :D

Lol! Thank you so much! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87